Google Search


Featured Post of the Week

FULL Review: Elantra AD 2.0 and 1.6 Turbo T-GDI

You are looking at Newly Launched 2017 Hyundai Elantra AD.  It comes in 2 Variant.  The Elantra Nu 2.0 MPI Sedan and Elantra Sport 1.6 T-GDI...

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Peugeot RCZ is Maybank NST CBT Car of the Year 2011!

Peugeot RCZ is Maybank NST CBT Car of the Year 2011!

SOURCE: Click me!

The Peugeot RCZ has been named the “Overall Car of the Year 2011” as well as the “Coupe/Cabriolet of the Year 2011” at the New Straits Times/Maybank “Car of the Year 2011” (COTY) Awards.

Its astonishingly beautiful form, powerful stance and supermodel shape gave the RCZ an exquisite look that surpasses cars more than double its asking price of RM218,888 (OTR with insurance).

The RCZ’s shape has already won it the 2010 Red Dot Design Award and the title of “2009’s Most Beautiful Car of the Year” during the 25th Festival Automobile International.

To back up its supercar proportions, the RCZ is powered by a refined, yet powerful 156hp 1.6-litre direct-injection turbocharged engine, which has been winning engine of the year awards for its category.

Readers and show visitors voted for their favourite Car of the Year from the 44 new cars nominated for this year's COTY awards.

The winners for the New Straits Times /Maybank 2011 COTY Awards were announced at a gala dinner at The Saujana Kuala Lumpur, hosted by the New Straits Times and title sponsor Maybank Berhad.
Its smooth shifting six-speed automatic transmission, on the other hand, fits perfectly with the RCZ’s refined nature.

The RCZ was named as 2011’s “Overall Car of the Year” as it received the most votes from the COTY judging panel of nine judges, citing its head turning looks, stylish interior, competitive pricing, as well as refined handling dynamics and comprehensive safety features.

Three car brands - Hyundai, Nissan and Jaguar - each picked up double wins in this year’s COTY Awards.

The i10 1.25 Kappa and Santa Fe 2.2 VGT picked up the “Compact Car of the Year” and “SUV of the Year (Above RM150,000)” awards respectively for Hyundai.
Judges were impressed by the i10’s refinement and build quality, while the Santa Fe managed to get nods of approval from all judges for its excellent cabin space and good fuel economy.

Nissan, on the other hand, took home the “Executive Car of the Year” and “Pick-Up Truck of the Year” awards with the Nissan Teana and Navara King Cab.

The Teana’s smooth and comfortable nature made it the car all the judges wanted to go home in after a hard day’s work, while the powerful Navara King Cab wooed the judges by its performance and economy.

Both Jaguar’s new diesel powered models, the XFS 3.0D and XJL 3.0D, swept the “Premium Executive Car of the Year (Above RM300,000)” and “Limousine of the Year” awards.

Although powered by the same three-litre diesel engine, both the XFS and XJL show that diesel power is no handicap even when it is tasked to meet the power demands of a sporty executive sedan and the required refinement worthy of a limousine.

This year’s COTY Awards marks a landmark year as the Great Wall Motor’s Haval H5 becomes the first China made car to win a COTY category award, the “SUV of the Year (Below RM150,000)” Award, in COTY’s 10-year history.

The Perodua Myvi got its due recognition as the people’s champion when it was voted as the winner of this year’s “2011 People’s Choice” Award.

The 2011 People's Choice Award was based on votes received from the NST/Maybank Car of the Year 2011 People's Choice Contest published in the New Straits Times from Oct 20 to Nov 13.

The winners were selected from 44 new models or re-engineered facelift models introduced between October 2010 and October 2011.

When picking the winners, the judges took into account criteria such as exterior and interior design, comfort and ergonomics, performance, safety, emotional appeal, and after sales service including the comprehensiveness of its warranty.

The Overall Car of the Year winner was selected from the list of 14 category winners.

The Car of the Year Awards is the country’s first motoring award and this year’s awards marks the 10th anniversary of the awards which was launched in 2002 by Cars,
Bikes & Trucks, the motoring section of the New Sunday Times, as a means to acknowledge achievements within the motoring industry.

The event is endorsed by the Malaysian Automotive Association.

NST/Maybank Car of the Year 2011 Winners:

Overall Car of the Year & Coupe/Cabriolet of the Year – Peugeot RCZ
Compact Car of the Year - Hyundai i10 1.25 Kappa
Premium Compact Car of the Year – Volkswagen Polo TSi
Family Car of the Year – Kia Forte 2.0SX 6-speed
Executive Car of the Year – Nissan Teana
Premium Executive Car of the Year (below RM300,000) – Skoda Superb
Premium Executive Car of the Year (above RM300,000) – Jaguar XFS 3.0D
Performance Car of the Year – Renault Megane RS250
Limousine of the Year – Jaguar XJL 3.0D
MPV of the Year – Ford S-Max Ecoboost
SUV of the Year (below RM150,000) – GWM Haval H5
SUV of the Year (above RM150,000) – Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 VGT (Diesel)
Pick-up Truck of the Year – Nissan Navara King Cab

Special Mention Awards

Eco Innovation Award – Toyota Prius
Automotive Man of the Year – JP Chin
People’s Choice Award – Perodua Myvi

No comments:

Post a Comment