Google Search

Google

Featured Post of the Week

FULL REVIEW: Hyundai Sonata LF Nu 2.0

In this Blog entry, I'm reviewing a Long overdue Review on the Sonata LF Nu 2.0 D-CVVT. You are looking at All new Sonata LF 2.0.  I d...

Monday, August 21, 2017

Happy 11th Birthday Otoreview.my

In 21 August, back in 2006, I created this Otoreview.my blog.  So Blessed 11th Birthday!

Back then, I was a 2nd year Uni Student with lots of free time and frustrated with Brief and Summarized Car review.  I started with Reviewing my Dad's ex-car.  Ford TX-3. Photo below:

Slowly, I did Magazine scans, like this: CARS.MY, Sheep vs Wolf .  Youtube playlists...  But what set My blog apart is it's Anti-Plagiarism one.  Even If I copied, I make sure I acknowledge OR Declare the source.

I'm very sorry to all readers and subscribers over lacking of Posting or update since 2015.  In fact, this blog is semi-active from 2014 onwards because it's a 1 Man show blog.  And the fact that I can't multi-task and short attention span means 1 blog entry, car review takes up to 6 hours.  I'm also contented that I produced 1000th post back in April.  

Also, recently, My blog was Cloned, so another setback.  Another factor's Conflict of interest.  I actually created Many car reviews like Kia Grand Carnival, Subaru XV, Kia Sorento and Sportage, VW Tiguan, Honda CR-V. But I can't post due to my work nature.  

I can only post Reviews on my own car, Hyundai and Mazda.  I review Perodua and Proton sometimes because it's a Rakyat car.  
Thanks everyone for continuous Support.  Here's to many more years to come...



Friday, July 28, 2017

LONGTERMER 2: 9th year report: Honda Civic FD2 (Season 2, vol 3)

In this blog entry, I'm posting my Family's ride.  The Honda Civic FD2 2.0 IVTEC.  I called it Season 2 volume 3 because I haven't been updating it since July 29 2016.  This is the 9th year or 108th month we owned the Honda Civic FD2 2.0I-S.  

The reason why it hasn't been updated for 12 months is because there's very little things to write about.  Apparently, this is a Very Reliable car.  

My cousin was surprised to learned that the Engine mountings and Rear Double Wishbones Suspensions are still Factory Fitted.  

His 3 years Old Proton already changed 1 set Engine Mountings and 1 set absorbers.  We stopped servicing with Honda on the 6th year owning the Civic.  Anyway for your reference, maintenance cost of the Civic FD2 without Hidden wear and tear stuff like Rear Wheel bearing, Absorbers, Brake pads.


Nothing much to update.  Firstly, The Good news.  Last year, Allianz Insurance gave us 10% loading on premium.  This year, My company's Insurance only have Tune insurance WITH NO LOADING but got Betterment and only ONCE towing.  

As Kah Motor CSL's just across the road, I decided to walked to submit quotation.  Lo and behold, No LOADING.  Also, NO Betterment, use ORIGINAL parts, No Excess, 200km radius towing.  Agreed Value clause...  This package by MSIG is called HONDA INSURANCE PACKAGE.  

Click the link below for more information:

Basically this is the FINAL YEAR I get to enjoy HIP (Honda Insurance Package).  Thank God!  

 The Civic FD have 2 oil change using Castrol magnatac and Original Honda Oil filter, 1 ATF Change and 1 driver side power window change apart from Annual Road tax and Insurance renewal.  Very reliable and low maintenance car.   

Above: 450 litres boot space with 60:40 split folding rear seats (Below).
 

 This is the Only Generation Civic in Malaysia with 60:40 split fold rear seats.  The latest Civic FC have 60:40 split rear seats BUT in USA, Indonesia and Australia only.

Over the past year, the Civic Clocked 9500km only.  It's rarely used as My dad, was working Oversea 1/2 of the year.  And I've been driving my Hyundai i10 daily.  The Civic thus, relegated to Tuesday night (fetching people to Church) and Sunday car.  You see, i10's a Cute and Friendly car.   This Civic On the other hand's Stressful and always kena Bully.  How?

1) People deliberately Not give way despite giving signal.  Close gap on purpose.  The i10 from far people gave way already.
2) People challenge you for a Race.  Especially Vios, Elantra, Myvi, Civic FB, Modified Wira.
3) Bumper to bumper crawl, Civic kena picked on.  The i10 people give way.
4) Low slung seating position than i10 makes me insecure and more blind spots.  Stressful.


My opinion on this Honda Civic FD2 2.0S IVTEC:

The 8th generation Civic FD's the last Civic With Double wishbones suspension, only Civic with 60:40 split fold rear seat back and the Most stylish Civic inside out. This is the Best Civic.  Apparently, Malaysians agree with me as reflected by it's Strong Resale Value. First batch 2006 Civic FD are still selling at RM40,000 to RM46,000 depending on conditions. That's Mind boggling for a 10 years old Car.  An astounding 52% retained value in 8 years and 40% retained value in 10 years.   This is the reason why my dad's Keeping the Civic for another few years.

SHOULD YOU BUY A USED CIVIC FD?

Why not?
Honda Civic in General are Extremely tough cars.  The 1st 3-generations are victim to Rust only. Many Civic from the 4th generation EF onwards (1987 to 1991) are still running on Malaysian roads.  The 4th-Generation's where Rust-proofing extensively applied by Kah Motor.  There are Still many 5th and 6th generation on the road which are between 16 to 24 years old yet the EG (Dolphin) and EK (Taai Ngan Chai) still Desired by Ah Bengs.  Average lifespan of a Civic unless Total-loss or stolen are 20 years!!!  So say you bought a used 2008 model, on average the Civic FD can last you another 12-14 years.



Above: Note still Stock Standard 6-disc In-dash CD/MP3/WMA CD-Changer Head unit with Aux and Volume adjust according to Speed or Noise.  Eg. The higher the speed or engine noise, the higher the volume.  Also, Steering wheel Audio control. 

Without further ado, let's proceed to Logbook.
Purchase price: RM126,000 (less NCB)
Current value: RM56,000.
- 9 years depreciation: 45% retained value
Interest rate: PBB 2.35% (back in July 2008) for 6 years loan.
LAST INSTALLMENT: July 2014.  

Mileage last update: 135,800km. July 28 2016.
Mileage Today: 145,300km


Km used last 12 months:9500km
Mileage per month: 792km  (12 month Average)
Average Mileage per month past 108 months: 1345km only.
FUEL CONSUMPTION (July 29, 2016 to July 29 2017):

Best: 14.2km/L  80% highway/20% city, driven by my dad Petronas RON95. 
WORST: 9km/L (Shell RON95) 80% City/20% Highway driving driven by ME.
Average FC: 11.2km/l

ALL TIME:

Best: 15.35km/l (RM0.12/km) (90% highway driving) (20 August 2010)
Worst: 7.1km/l (80% City driving, 20% HARD DRIVING) (October 27, 2012)

PERFORMANCE:
0-100km/h: 9.2 seconds normal acceleration (8.9 seconds with paddle-shift)
Top speed: Max I driven is 190km/h but I know it can go up to 227km/h. Someone from Youtube tried it.

EXPENSES Last 12 months:
1) Roadtax And Insurance Renewal: RM810.40 + 381.00 = RM1,191.40
2) Changed ATF Brake fluid: 100+20 = 120
3) 2 oil change.  Castrol magnatac (average 150 per oil change incl. Oil filter and Washer drain plug.
4) Driver side power window motor RM250
5 Petrol and Toll...
6) Other expenses...  Such as PVC Floor mat, Car Ionizer, Custom made Driver side seat cover.  Total less than 1k over 1 year. 

Before I go, here's my parting shot:



That's all folks, thanks for having the time and patience to read this blog entry.  An Original Jefferson Lim's production.  Copy like a man, don't plagiarize.

FULL Review: Elantra AD 2.0 and 1.6 Turbo T-GDI

You are looking at Newly Launched 2017 Hyundai Elantra AD.  It comes in 2 Variant.  The Elantra Nu 2.0 MPI Sedan and Elantra Sport 1.6 T-GDI DCT.

It's priced from RM115,658 OTR to RM119,858 for 2.0 MPI.  While the 1.6 Turbo T-GDI's priced RM131,048.  All price OTR including GST but Without Roadtax, Registration fee and Insurance.

Firstly, the Elantra 2.0 MPI.  this is a Familiar Nu 2.0 MPI engine as seen in Sonata LF and Tucson TL and Kia Cerato 2.0.  It produces 152ps@6200rpm and 192Nm at 4000rpm mated with Familiar 6 speed Automatic transmission.  It goes from 0-100km/h in 9.7 seconds.

The Elantra Sport is powered by the Gamma 1.6 Turbo GDI (T-GDI) 4-cylinder engine that generates 204 PS and 265Nm of torque, mated with an Ecoshift 7-speed dual-clutch transmission.

This is a C-segment GERMAN Sports Sedan with a Korean Badge". It comes with 3 years OR 50,000km OR 6 times free Service.

Why above statement?

Because it's Designed by Peter Shreyer. He was Audi TT Designer. It's the 1st Hyundai C-segment sedan carrying the Fluidic Sculpture 2.0. It's both Engineered and tested in Alabama, USA and Russelsheim Germany. It's also fine-tuned in Nurburgring, Germany hence class leading Ride and Handling with European car refinement. Please test drive to agree with me.

The Elantra Sport 1.6 Turbo handles differently compared to Elantra 2.0 Due to Retuned Rear Multi-link suspension instead of Torsion-Beam and 7 speed Dual Clutch gearbox over 6 speed Auto. That explained why Hyundai Sime Darby took the trouble to produce 2 Different Brochures.

FULL Driving impressions report and ratings by Next week...  Stay tuned...

Standard Features across the range:

17" rims with 225/45R17 tyres.

Chrome door handles with Welcome lights

MDPS steering with Tilt and Telescopic
Electric Control and folding Side mirror with Side repeater

Rear Console Air vents

Electronic-Chromatic rear view mirror (ECM)
- 3 different DRIVE MODE namely Eco, Normal and Sport modes that allow the driver to adapt the throttle, transmission and steering to their driving needs

 7" LCD Touch Screen Player with Android Auto and Apple Carplay support and reverse camera





















- 8 way Electric Adjustable Front Driver seat with Lumbar support with Manual adj front Passenger seat


- 470 litres boot space with 60:40 SPLIT FOLDING Rear seats


- REAR LED Tailights. Above: 2.0 MPI, Below Elantra Sport 1.6 Turbo


- rear-view camera,
- segment-exclusive Hands-free Smart Trunk
- Parking Guidance System
- Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
- Passive Auto Cruise Control


- Auto Defogging System,
- Manual Levelling Headlights

- Auto light control
- Smart Key with Start/stop Button


DESIGN:

* Much better Aerodynamics at 0.27Cd with Flat floor, front lip and rear spoiler. This contributes to
- Lower NVH, Better Ride and Soundproofing.
- Lower FC due to better wind resistance.

Without further ado, here's YOUTUBE Playlists.  I will add more videos of Elantra AD progressively.

DIFFERENCES between the 2 variants: 

The Elantra Sport 1.6 Turbo handles TOTALLY different from Elantra 2.0 Due to Retuned Rear Multi-link suspension instead of Torsion-Beam and 7 speed Dual Clutch gearbox over 6 speed Auto. That explained why Hyundai Sime Darby took the trouble to produce 2 Different Brochures.

Elantra 2.0 MPI Features:

- Projector Halogen with LED Positioning Lamp

- 2 tone Leather and Suede seats



- 6 speed Automatic Transmission

- Rear Torsion Beam Suspension
- Full Size 17" rim Spare tyres

- 15" front Ventilated Discs

- Manual control Air-cond

- Chrome Radiator grille

- Front fog-lights for Executive

- 2 tone Grey and Polished Shurikin Alloy rims

- Light grey Pillar and Roof trim 

- Silver Dashboard and Console trim
Plastic side steps
Conventional Leather wrapped steering with Conventional Dash-meter
4 speakers only.

- OPTIONAL: 4 piece bodykits with LED Daytime running lights  (Add RM4,200)



Elantra 1.6 Turbo T-GDI Value added features:

- Aggressive front floating-chrome Hexagonal grille with RED "Turbo" badge

- D-cut multi-function Steering wheel with Paddle Shift and tilt-telescopic


- HID Bi-xenon headlights with LED Foglights
- Rear foglights
- Multi-link Rear Suspension
- Space saver Spare tyre.

- 7 speed Eco-shift Dual-Clutch Transmission

Extra 2 speakers at Door panel (tweeter)

Sportier Supervision Instrument Cluster with 6'o-clock Dials.  Ala. Alfa Romeo 159.

- Better looking REAR LED Tailights

- Black and Red 2-tone Sport Leather Seats

- Dual Zone Auto Climate Control with Rear Air vents

- Rain-Sensing Wipers.

- Additional safety technologies include Blind Spot Detection with Rear Cross-Traffic Alert and Lane Change Assist (for Elantra Sport only)
- 16" Front Ventilated discs

- 2 Tone Black-polished 17" Alloy Rims

- Chrome effect Side steps

- Titanium effect Dashboard and Console trim.


PERFORMANCE and ECONOMY

Elantra AD 2.0MPI
- Top speed 200km/h
- 0-100km/h 9.5 seconds
- Average FC: 7.7l/100km

Elantra Sport 1.6 T-GDI
- Top speed Electronically limited 210km/h
- 0-100km/h in 6.92 seconds (tested)
- Quarter mile in 15.4 seconds at 145km/h
- Average FC of 7.0/100km
- EEV Status.

DIMENSIONS:

Exterior dimensions (mm):

Overall length.........4570
Overall width......... 1800
Overall height ........1440
Wheelbase...............2700
Front overhang..........880
Rear overhang ..........990
Front thred 1,549-17”
Rear thred 1,558-17”

Interior dimensions (mm):

               Front         Rear
Head room 985 947
Leg room 1,073 906
Shoulder room 1,427 1,405

Capacities (liters):

Fuel tank (liters) 50
Luggage (liters) SAE: 407 / VDA: 458

SAFETY and SECURITY:

The Elantra AD comes with ISOFIX Child Anchor point across the range.


- 6 Airbags

- ABS, ESC, HAC, BAS and VSM

In addition, it's now reinforced with:
- 53% of Advanced High-Strength Steel (an increase of 32% as compared to the previous model) providing improved stiffness at a lower body weight.

- This results in a 29.5% stiffer torsional rigidity and 25.3% greater bending strength, which bring improvements in vehicle ride and handling, quietness, durability and driving performance.

HENCE it achieved:
BEST IN CLASS Safety:
* EURO NCAP 5 stars (Best in Class)
* NHTSA (USA) 5 stars
* IIHS (USA) - Top Safety picks.
- Small Overlap: Very good.
- Front Crash Prevention: SUPERIOR

COLOUR CHOICES:
 Above: Polar White, Below: Fiery RED

 Above: Phantom Black, Below:Iron Grey.

 Above: Blazing Yellow, Below: Marina Blue.

Above: Platinum Silver.

ELANTRA 2.0 MPI Photo gallery:




































END OF Elantra AD 2.0 MPI Photo gallery.

Please Whatsapp me for my FULL Elantra 1.6 Turbo Photo gallery.

All Elantra variants are entitled to 50,000km of free service with a three-year validity. Aside from that, HSDM offers a 5-year or 300,000km (whichever comes first) warranty on all its new passenger vehicles. A 24-hour road assist service is also now available to new and existing Hyundai vehicles.

IF YOU WANT To Buy this car, I'm at your service.  Call Jefferson Lim 012-6852-718.

** DOCUMENT (FOR BANK LOAN) Individual **
1. Photocopy IC & Driving License
2. Latest 3 months Payslip
3. Latest 3 months Bank Statement
4. EPF(KWSP)
5. Borang EA / Borang B (Income Tax Form)

DOCUMENT FOR SUBMISSION COMPANY

1.PHOTOCOPY ( 1 I/C DIRECTOR FRONT and BACK )
2. LETTER SSM
3. LATEST 6 MONTHS BANK STATEMENT
4. REGISTRATION COMPANY / FORM D / M & A / 24/49
5. A COPY ( INCOME TAX and PAYMENT RECEIPTS [ EA FORM] )
6. OTHER DOCUMENT SUPPORT ASB / FD )

I provide:
# Test Drive Available by appointment
# Lower Interest Rate Up to 9 Years LOAN
# Good Connection With Banks
# 90% Approval Rate
# Accept Trade In With Higher Trade in Value
# Door to Door Service (in Cheras, Ampang and PJ area only)
# RELIABLE After Sales Service. Same Mobile no since 2002 = Nothing to hide
# Your Satisfaction is my PRIORITY

*BEST VALUE FOR MONEY!!

Terms and conditions apply!

That's all folks, thanks for having the time and patience to read this lengthy BLOG Entry.  An Original Jefferson Lim production.  If you want to copy please acknowledge my work by cross-linking or state source.  Copy like a Man, don't plagiarize.