Google Search


Featured Post of the Week

FULL Review: Elantra AD 2.0 and 1.6 Turbo T-GDI

You are looking at Newly Launched 2017 Hyundai Elantra AD.  It comes in 2 Variant.  The Elantra Nu 2.0 MPI Sedan and Elantra Sport 1.6 T-GDI...

Thursday, May 19, 2011

2011 International Engine of the Year Awards

International Engine of the Year Awards

(Source: Click the title)... 

 For further details/readings:

With four different engines receiving class victories in the International Engine of the Year Award 2011, the BMW Group repeated last year’s success whilst at the same time strengthening its position as the most successful manufacturer to take part in the competition. Since 1999, the company has been able to claim more than 50 class and overall victories in the “Engine of the Year Award” competition. Commendation for the awards is decided by an international jury, which this year consisted of 76 international motoring journalists from 32 countries.

In the capacity class 1.4 - 1.8 litres, the award went to an engine featured in the new MINI Cooper S. The 1.6-litre 4-cylinder engine is equipped with a Twin Scroll turbocharger, direct petrol injection as well as variable valve control based on the BMW-patented VALVETRONIC system. This combination makes the 135 kW/184 bhp engine the world’s most efficient power unit of its type and size. It assumes the title from the predecessor engine used in the MINI Cooper S which was a class winner in the four times in a row.
The second victory in succession went to the 4-cylinder turbodiesel
engine with TwinPower Turbo technology. As in 2010, the 2-litre power unit featured of the 123d and the X1 xDrive23d was also successful in the engine category 1.8 – 2.0 litres. With its strong pulling power and exceptionally low fuel consumption and emission levels, the 150 kW/204 bhp engine still sets the benchmark in its class.

A BMW engine was able to repeat last year’s victory in the 2.5 – 3.0-litre class as well. The jury voted once again for the 3-litre, 225 kW/306 bhp straight 6-cylinder engine with BMW TwinPower Turbo technology (used in the latest 5-Series), the new X3, as well as in the new 6-Series Convertible/Coupe (235 kW/320 bhp). The engine incorporates a unique technology package comprising a Twin Scroll turbocharger, direct injection technology High Precision Injection and VALVETRONIC valve control. In this area, it is said to even surpass its predecessor which was not only able to win the class valuation three times but also claim overall victory spanning several categories in 2007 and 2008.

The only non-turbocharged engine amongst BMW’s four award-winners is responsible for the currently most impressive series of victories. For the fourth time in succession, the 309 kW/420 bhp V8 powerplant of the M3 was judged the best in the 3.0 – 4.0-litre class. Other contenders in this class were the 3.8-litre Porsche engine in the GT3 and GT3 RS and McLaren’s 3.8-litre V8.

Volkswagen 1.4-litre TSI engine (left) and the Ferrari 4.5-litre V8 (right)

No comments:

Post a Comment