Google Search

Google

Featured Post of the Week

MEGA REVIEW: Subaru Levorg 1.6 GT-S

Subaru Levorg!  This is the Sports wagon I'm looking forward to...  I loved the car so much that I downloaded and scanned the Singaporea...

Tuesday, December 26, 2006

REVIEW: Honda Stream 2.0iVTEC IVS...

(Pictures Sourced from: www.whatcar.com)
A lot of people have been asking me to do a review on Honda Stream 2.0iVTEC, the problem is that I DON"T have a car to review. Like my previous post, I'll do the next best thing. I will kickstart by posting a couple of "OWNER'S review" from the WEB... Then, I'll OPEN to AT LEAST 2 of YOU! Owners' of HONDA STREAM to post a review of your car AND AT LEAST 2 pictures of your Car! Send to "otoreview@gmail.com". I will post here and acknowledge your work (ie. Your NAME will be there).




Here's A FEW of Owner's review taken from the WEB:

REVIEW 1: Honda STREAM (2001 - TO DATE)

Source: YAHOO CARS UK Website: http://uk.cars.yahoo.com/carandriving/reviewused/honda_stream2003278.html
MODELS COVERED: 5dr Mini-MPV 1.7, 2.0 petrol (S, SE, SE Sport)

BY ANDY ENRIGHT

RATING: 3 ½ Stars out of 5 stars

Amid a welter of same-old mini-MPVs, the Honda Stream stands out like a beacon. Not for its looks as it's a fairly low-key thing, more for its driving characteristics. Think of it as a mini-MPV for people who resent having to buy one and you're a little closer to hitting the nail on the head. Unless the responsibilities of parenthood have flattened every ounce of mischievousness from your system, chances are you'll love the way the Stream drives.

* What You Get At first, the Stream doesn't promise too much. Settle in behind the wheel and you're greeted by reassuringly familiar Honda controls, a decent driving position that's different to many of the sit up and beg mini-MPV offerings and good all round visibility. The gear lever sprouts from the fascia like a hastily-buried dalek, but it works surprisingly well. Sporty though? Not a bit of it. There aren't any racy spoilers, liquorice strip low profile tyres or body hugging sports seats on display. The lines are neat, if slightly anonymous. Drop into the driver's seat and, again, there seems little to get excited about. You're greeted by reassuringly familiar Honda controls, a decent driving position that's different to many of the sit up and beg mini-MPV offerings and good all round visibility.


It will appeal to those who appreciate a sporty drive but need the practicality. They can have a car that's secretly something of a funster without being accused of being the oldest swinger in town. For convenience sake, let's imagine you're transporting six ankle biters to a football match. The Stream can easily accommodate the seating requests, although you may need to insist they share a towel and the half-time orange as six lots of bulky kit bags would have to find alternate travel arrangements. Yes, the Stream is a proper seven-seater, but how viable is the whole seven-seat scenario if you can't transport the allied paraphernalia with you? The seating is well planned, if not quite so smugly clever as is the case with the Zafira.

Standard features include air conditioning, twin front and side airbags and anti-lock brakes beefed up by electronic brakeforce distribution. You'll also find an electric sunroof, powered windows and door mirrors on the standard equipment list

* What To Look For Very little: the car tends to prove predictably reliable. A full service history is preferable. As with all MPVs, check for parking bumps and scrapes, plus interior damage caused by over-enthusiastic children.


* ON THE ROAD Fire up that smooth 16-valve four-cylinder engine and you'll hear no fruity exhaust trumpet, just a near imperceptible hum at tickover. The 2.0-litre engine in particular is something of a work of automotive art. This is one of the latest i-VTEC Honda engines and is a generation on from the first VTEC units with their 'buy one get one free' engine characteristics. These powerplants operated a system where the cam profile changed at a point two-thirds of the way up the rev range, giving you a docile, fuel efficient engine at the lower reaches and an aggressive, performance profile at the top end. The i-VTEC (intelligent VTEC) does away with this binary step, instead offering a seamless, graduated transition from one phase into the other. The 2.

0-litre Stream certainly benefits from this technology, borne out by its sprint to 60mph taking just 9.2 seconds for the manual version, or a less impressive 11 seconds with the sequential automatic box. A top speed of 127mph should be enough for most families of seven. Amongst MPV rivals, only the quicker versions of Vauxhall's Zafira offer performance this lively but the base figures only tell half the story. What makes the Stream genuinely innovative is the fact that Honda's engineers have set out to make it genuinely fun to drive. Coming from a company that's brought us the S2000 and wild Type-R models, perhaps that shouldn't be a huge surprise.

Do fun and MPVs have to be mutually exclusive concepts? No. The Stream rides well, is pleasantly roll-free in corners and the two-litre engine is always up for fun. The steering, whilst feeling slightly artificial at city speeds, weights up nicely on the move and enables the Stream to move to the top of the MPV class for driving satisfaction.

This may be construed as damning with faint praise, but the Stream is worthy of comparison with most medium range saloons in the twisty bits, its low centre of gravity belying its lofty altitude.

*Overall If the idea of trying to be 'Daddy Cool' at the school gates is too much to bear, a used Honda Stream may well appeal. It's understated but when push comes to shove it's a finer driver's car than many so-called hot hatches. You'll be happy, the kids will love it but your better half may well have to issue an occasional admonishment if you get a little enthusiastic. If you've got a family but hate the idea of a pipe and slippers mini-MPV, your chariot awaits...

REVIEW 2: Owners review 1:


SOURCE: http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/cars/honda-stream/1007438/

Secret Honda
by easypar4 - written on 12.06.05 - Rating: (4 of 5 possible stars)

Advantages One of the best MPVs, Reliable
Disadvantages Potentially high running costs

The Honda Stream is not as well known as the others but deserves attention as it's a stylish, well equipped and well built seven-seater with that superb 2.0litre VTEC engine that makes it enjoyably lively to drive. In comparison with the Galaxy I had (a 2.3 litre petrol) the 2.0 litre Stream kicks out about 10% more power but because of the way the Honda VTEC unit delivers its power it is easy to tootle about in but when you want to go the power is there particularly above 3000rpm. In this respect it makes it a very different proposition to the other cars in its class being much livelier and with a body less like van with windows has less body roll and much better handling generally.

The Stream though is a genuine seven-seater who will be carried in a very light and airy cabin. The surprising thing is the Stream is built around the same chassis as a Honda Civic. The Civic is a much better known entity which hints at good reliability. There are not many Streams about which hints at their lack of desirability. Lack of desirability in turn usually means low purchase cost for a used car but most Streams apparently end up back at the Honda dealers due to the loyalty of Honda owners. In turn this means it is difficult to find a cheap Stream. Honda servicing and parts costs are also a bit above average...

The Stream is an attractive car though I appreciate this is subjective and others may disagree. MPV styling is generally bland but the Stream does have striking aggressive pose rather than the lump of metal looks of the Galaxy/Sharan and 806/Ulysses. The 2/3/2 seating configuration works well but leg room is compromised when all seats are occupied. Removing and dropping the seats is reasonably easy though the middle row of seats does not split. There are lots of handy cubby holes too to stop things rolling around the flat floor. With all the seats occupied though there is not much space but trips where you need all 7 seats and luggage as well are rare anyway.

The drivers seat was comfortable and the driving position easily adjusted to be comfortable too. The fuel consumption averaged 37 mpg whilst we had it and considering the weight we had in this was impressive. The Stream is a fine car and I am sure Honda could sell more. However when did you last see an advert for the Stream? Never, I would guess but Honda seem to want to spend money on clever adverts which are almost an art form, (hate something change something, make something better – really makes you want to get a Honda diesel!!) regardless of the fact they don’t seem to help with giving their products identification or desirability.

The Stream could be a huge seller but Honda don’t seem to want it to be so.

REVIEW 3: Owner's Review 2,


SOURCE: http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/cars/honda-stream/416826

Room for all
by jessyclown - written on 06.05.03 - Rating: (4 of 5 possible stars)

Advantages seats all our family, a compact people carrier, looks good
Disadvantages No space for luggage, No split rear seat


There are now lots of people carriers on the market with a large range of prices and sizes. The larger people carriers like the Galaxy, Alhambra, Sharan, Espace, and Voyager looked so big and would not easily get through our narrow gateway. We wanted to change our car to a car that would seat 6.

Our choice boiled down to 4 cars Peugeot 307SW, Mitsubishi SpaceWagon, Vauxhall Zafira, and Honda Stream. The smaller people carriers on the market. As we looked closer at these cars we whittled our choice down to the Honda Stream.

The Stream in my opinion looks like a car, if a bit larger than a lot. It is slightly taller than most cars at 1.59m. The car is 4.57m long, still short enough to be a car. I feel that this car has a distinctive look with its attractively shaped windows. At 1.7m wide this car is narrower than the car we replaced a Ford Mondeo.

The Honda Stream has 3 rows of seat. 2 seats in the front, 3 in the middle and 2 in the back. The front seats are very comfortable. The seat in the middle can seat 3 but the middle one only has a lap belt. My children like to put down the back of the middle seat to expose an armrest with a space to put the cups. At the back there is a bench seat which is quite deep which makes up for the fact that there can be very little foot space if the middle seats are too far back!

The front of the car seems to be very spacious, as the gear stick is not on the floor, There is room to keep my handbag on the floor between the seats. The steering wheel can be raised and lowered depending on where you want to hold your arms.

As the seats at the back does not have a window to open there is a fan which can be operated from the front or the back. This can be very useful on very hot days. To keep the car cool you can open your electric windows, (which can be controlled by the driver), the sunroof is an option, and air conditioning can be used to maintain a constant temperature.

The biggest disadvantage with this car is its lack of boot. We did manage to take all we needed for a week away in it but we were all restricted to a very small bag the washing machine had to be used regularly! It is not uncommon to have a lack of space in 7-seaters and this problem can be overcome by using a roof box or a trailer. Unlike many 7-seaters it is not possible to have half the back seat down for luggage. It is even possible to fold the middle seats down if you have very large objects to transport.

We have been very happy with the handling of this vehicle. I found
it easier to drive than the Ford Mondeo, being taller than standard cars you get a very good view from it. It is difficult to see the front of the car so you have to well aware of the size of vehicle you are driving. I found this car comfortable to drive for long distances it is a smooth drive when travelling at the speed limit. As for fuel consumption I was quite happy with around 35 miles per gallon which is not as good as my husbands Micra but when you take into account that 6 people are travelling seems ok to me.

I am very happy with our new well nearly new Honda Stream. It is not a very popular car; I have only ever seen one other one on the road! As a small people carrier it does not do a bad job.

SPECIFICATIONS:

Engine: 4 cyl in line DOHC 1998cc, 16v IVTEC FWD (OR 4WD), Fuel Injection
Bore and stroke: 86x86mm, Compression Ratio: 9.8:1

MAX POWER/TORQUE: 154ps@6500rpm / 186Nm@4000rpm

Gearbox: 5 speed manual (Extremely Rare in Malaysia) or 5 speed Auto

Chassis:
Front Suspension: Independent MacPherson struts, anti-roll bar, coil springs and dampers (duh!)
Rear Suspension: Independent, double wishbones, coil springs and dampers (duh!), stabiliser bar.

Dimensions:

Wheelbase: 2720mm,
Length: 4550mm,
Width: 1695mm,
Height: 1590mm
Ground Clearence: 150mm
Weight: 1490kg
Fuel tank capacity: 55 litres

BRAKES: Front ventilated discs, rear discs, ABS/EBD

PERFORMANCE:
Top speed: 200km/h (205km/h manual), 0-100km/h: 11 secs (9.2secs manual)

PRICE: RM159,000 for a 2.0iVTEC IVS model when new back in 2003. Today, a used 2003 unit costs RM95,000 (as at 24 Dec). Not sure of the difference between IV and IVS apart from Bodykits, 16" wheels and Elec Sunroof. Anyone can help?

Hope this report is useful to ALL of YOU who're looking for a Used Honda Stream. All the best Looking for a NICE used Honda Stream... Oh! MERRY CHRISTMAS & A HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Monday, December 18, 2006

FULL REVIEW: ALFA ROMEO 156 2.5 V6 Q-matic






ARTICLE: Source 1: http://driving.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/driving/used_car_reviews/article431130.ece
Source 1a: www.dooyoo.co.uk/cars/alfa-romeo-156-2-5-v6-24v/425676/comments
SOURCE 2: www.italiaauto.net
SOURCE 3: http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-147-156-and-159/22356-156-v6-2-5-advice.html
SOURCE 4: Whatcar? UK Magazine June 1999 issue.

My opinion: I never had a chance to own it, not even driving it. But I had a chance to be a passenger in one 2.5 V6 Q-matic for a brief 5 minutes only. All I can say was that the ENGINE ‘s so SWEET SOUNDING. Acceleration’s FAST, can feel the G-force.

Interior for front is okay, but once you move the seat far back, the rear legroom reduced to almost zero… Early batches have “RED LEATHER” interior (see picture). The car though small had rear a/c vents.


That’s all I can “review”, Can’t review without driving the car. All is not lost, I dished up A used car review article by "Sunday Times Online (UK),“reviews” from 4 owners of Alfa Romeo 2.5 V6 taken from the WEB, AND 1 OWNER review from Italia Auto Club Ex-President as well. Also, some useful “QUOTATIONS” from various Alfa forums… ENJOY!!!


ARTICLE: Source 1:May 23, 2004
Alfa Romeo 156
Jason Dawe


""The Alfa Romeo 156 is a confusing car. At first glance it looks like a two-door coupĂ©, yet it’s actually a four-door saloon with an interior that feels Germanic. Fire up one of the diesel versions and it even sounds like a petrol unit.

Styled by Giorgetto Giugaro, the 156 was launched in the UK in January 1998 and established itself as one of the best looking saloons money could buy. In an age when most cars merely toe the line, the 156 is a breath of fresh air. Six years on it remains a handsome car, and with good used examples available from £3,500 it’s a tempting proposition.

The heart of any Alfa Romeo is its engine. Choose the entry-level 1.6, the range-topping 250bhp V6 3.2, or anything in between, and you will not be disappointed. All produce a glorious sound, are free-revving and offer a level of driver involvement rarely found in cars costing this little.

The 156 also has the honour of being the first Alfa in the UK to be powered by a diesel engine. The largest 2.4 litre five-cylinder diesel sounds gruff and powerful even when merely ticking over. With 140bhp and 224 lb ft of pulling power at just 2000rpm, it also performs very well, with 0-62mph coming up in 9.4sec. Top speed is 127mph.

And the 156 is a car that encourages you to enjoy this performance. The supremely accurate steering — just 2.2 turns from lock to lock — allows you to place the car with pinpoint accuracy. Similarly, the suspension, firm and reassuring at speed, is compliant on motorways and shames even the BMW 3-series in terms of its blend of control and comfort.

Italian cars have traditionally had a “long arm and short leg” driving position and this is still slightly noticeable in the 156, although the adjustable steering column reduces this to a minimum.

But all this exuberance can lead to abuse. Alfas eat their front tyres if driven hard, and the 156 is particularly prone to front-wheel misalignment, so check the edges of tyre treads carefully. It’s also worth closely inspecting the car’s cabin: while the general quality is high, owners still report a number of electrical problems — most commonly associated with the climate control and sound system.

It’s difficult to buy a 156 with a bad engine, but the same cannot be said of the car’s gearboxes. Available with three different transmission systems, the standard manual gearbox (some with six speeds) is normally the best bet. The clutch is light and the changes are precise, although there is little space to rest your clutch foot when it’s not in use.

The Selespeed clutchless manual gearbox is second best: a button on the right-hand side of the steering wheel shifts up a gear, while one on the left changes down, aided by electronics that “blip” the throttle on the downchange. Least desirable and best avoided is the Q-System four-speed automatic transmission, which has a manual override shift. It somehow fails in its attempts to combine the benefits of an auto with the control of a manual.

The 156 can also be bought as an estate, or Sportwagon as Alfa romantically calls it. Basically, this is all the same good stuff, but with a bigger boot, so your spaniel can also come out and enjoy the pleasures of an Italian car.""

(Owner's Reviews 1) from Source 1a:)

Owner 1: You'll itch to drive it

by wayfarer - written on 05.02.01 - Rating: (5 of 5 possible stars)

Advantages Looks, Driver Appeal
Disadvantages Large turning Circle, Small Boot Opening, Poor Ground Clearance

I bought my 156 V6 about a year ago, importing it from Holland. The local Alfa dealer in UK never did commit himself to a firm quote for a car without sportpack (I do like white dials, but I don’t like the skirts, and the ground clearance is questionable enough in speed hump-infested suburbia, without lowered suspension) but with sunroof and leather. I understood his reticence when I found I could get the car home all paid for about £5,000 less than the price list he waved at me. So I paid the deposit and waited with growing impatience as the lease ran over on the company Golf VR6 I was replacing. I collected it from the dealer a month ahead of the six promised (the only unexpected snag was that the Dutch dealer closed all weekend), and it’s been a love thing ever since.

I won’t try to persuade you that it’s a perfect car. It’s far from that, and your head (and your accountant) will nag you to buy a BMW 3-series. But those are so common (i.e. ubiquitous) and the extras you want are ruinously expensive. The depreciation figures don’t look nearly so good if you buy them and you’ll never sell the thing if you don’t.

Let’s face it, nothing looks as drop-dead gorgeous as the Alfa 156, from any angle. How, or if, they’ll face-lift it remains to be seen, but any change I can think of would be negative. Oh, hang on, the flat, telephone-dial alloy wheels that the non-sportpack cars come with are pretty uncomplimentary, definitely room for improvement there. That’s it, though. But looks are not the most important thing (after all, I used to run a Golf), a car is for driving. The Alfa is just great to drive. On the motorway, the steering is just a little reluctant to stay on-centre, but it’s quiet and comfortable long-term, and the driving position isn’t too Italian even for a 34” inside leg. The height and rake adjustable steering wheel helps enormously here , though if Mr A. Romeo could find a way of moving the seat back just another inch or two, my joy would be unconfined. This would reduce the legroom in the back seat to approximately zilch, though, so I’d have to have my son’s legs amputated below the knee.

The lovely burbling rasp of the V6 is with you all the time, not obtrusively, and the 190 bhp whips you up and over the legal limit in no time, helped by a nice 6 (yes, six) speed gearbox. This has a lovely smooth (apart from first to second, to which there is a knack) retro feel via a longish lever that sprouts from the front of the console rather like Alfas of old. The clutch has an odd action that doesn’t bite until the very top of the pedal, but doesn’t release until the very bottom. You get used to it. Unlike the VW, the Alfa six has very little flywheel effect, and so quick changes are the best on the way up, and you can play tunes on the way down. It seems odd to have the extra gear on a V6 with 2.5 litres, and it isn’t an overdrive, but this is not an engine with massive grunt from tickover. In fact, you’ll find a quick drop from sixth to fifth a good idea in some motorway situations. It sounds so good, you’ll be thankful for the excuse. Once the engine is spinning the power is delivered strongly and smoothly all the way to the rev limiter. This will take you by surprise until you get the hang of the way the needle shoots towards the redline when you depress your size 10, so it’s just as well it works.

Off the motorway and on normal roads, the car really shines. The combination of really quick steering with great turn-in and apparently limitless grip will have you choosing the twistiest roads, and negotiating them in a fashion that will have weaker-stomached passengers searching the car for brown paper bags. If you specified the leather it cleans up well, so carry on playing with six gears and revelling in the now glorious so unds this car makes.

Back, too soon, in the 30 limit, the first speed hump reveals that the under-tray will ground unless you slow right down to residents-association approved speeds. At the supermarket, the boot reveals itself to be adequately large, but the turning circle is larger still. It’s darned embarrassing, having to reverse to get around ramps in multi-storey car parks, but believe it or not such is the case. If, encouraged by the remaining space in the boot, you call in to the electrical warehouse, you’ll find that nothing fatter than your middle-sized suitcase will go through the hole, and you’ll have to send one of your back seat passengers home by bus to get the 14” TV in. And so the Sportwagon was invented.

This sounds like a very niggly story, and I did warn you that this is not a perfect car. If you want a near-perfect, A-to-B status machine that nobody will argue with you for buying, take your accountant’s advice and get that BMW 3, probably a diesel with the badge-free option, in silver. If you can stand the dinner-party controversy and want a car that looks unusual but wonderful, goes, stops and corners in an incredibly satisfying manner, and that you will itch to take out of the garage and drive at every opportunity, get the best Alfa 156 you can afford. In red.

OWNER 2: Alfa 156 2.5 V6 24V after 3 years

by NMJP - written on 27.09.03 - Rating: (4 of 5 possible stars)

Advantages Comfort, Style, Engine
Disadvantages Fuel consumption, Turning circle

Well, I have now been driving my Alfa 156 for over 3 years and can honestly say it still remains a pleasure to drive.

What I will say though is that it is not without a few niggles. The first is that since owning this car I have picked up my first ever 3pts for speeding. I guess it is understadable given the immense power and ease with which it can be delivered to the wheels and therefore your forward velocity. The second is the odd occasion when I still get caught out by the football field like turning circle. Believe me it can be quite annoying when other drivers laugh at you or indicate their distress while you reverse back to negotiate an innocent looking mini roundabout. The third is an Air con annoyance - although now sorted - an AC pipe was damaged and the AC gas escaped. The damage - in my opinion - was due to a design fault as the pipe had been rubbing against part of the engine compartment. Interesting that the replacement part was a slightly different shape so that it no longer rubbed. The fourth is the mortgage size dent that running the car leaves in your finances - it really is very thirsty.

Anyway even with the negatives above the car remains my pride and joy and every time I start it up and hear the wonderful engine I remember why I bought it and that combined with the fantastic looks it remains one of the greatest creations ever produced by Alfa.

OWNER 3: 156 V6 tuned up

by alfatony - Rating: (4 of 5 possible stars)

Advantages performance, road holding, front room
Disadvantages no splitting rear seats, boot entry small, glove box small

I first sat in one at the nec motor show and at 6' 2" could i get a good position, no!
I left it for a few years, decided i could do without no longer and brought one all in glorious black,sports pack 3 + superb tan momo leather seats. I drove several engine sizes but V6 2.5 it was always going to be.
The car was chipped and air intake changed and on a rolling road was showing a healthy 207 BHP.This car has the damper settings at minimum and is lowered 30mm.
I have found the car fun to drive even a handful at times but always assured. The local road humps are a pain and i have to go the long way around as some brush the bottom of the engine cover even at very slow speed.
The brakes on this car seem to be a bit poor and don't inspire to much confidence and i am about to uprate them to grooved discs and better pads.The engine sounds impressive but has to be worked using the 6 speed box to the full to get the best out of it.On the motorway at 70MPH it's wasted and you soon find it creeping up.I find it hits dips in the road quite hard, but does not get thrown offline.Steering is pin sharp and it holds the road when cornering almost like a go kart as long as you keep the power on. Turning circle is rather wide which can cause a few problems, but you soon get used to it. Fuel consumption is around 24/25 mpg at the moment and it has not used any oil in 5000 miles.So far the love affair is ok and yes i did find a good driving position in the end. A splitting rear seat would have helped and would be my main moan if anything as i have a job getting my fishing gear in.I will update on the brake situation at a later date alfa say they are ok ????

18.9.02. Trouble has struck the car needs a new starting motor which is being done under warranty from garage purchased. 6.5hrs change time??.
Problem 2 alfas appalling customer care strikes , the engine had a squeak to be investigated the timing belt gear was re moved now been in the garage 5 days. Sorry mate we have not got a new belt tensioner in uk, we need to order 3 days delivery from Italy??.
You have got to be joking there must be hundreds of alfa v6 cars with 70,000 + miles where this is a standard service replacement part. They really want to pull there finger out.
The garage to avoid is Priory of mill road Cambridge, it seems they are not very competent.
It will not be serviced there will have to wait a week for a spark plug??????


OWNER 4:


Advantages Performance, Style
Disadvantages Fuel consumption

I own a 156 2.5 V6 for two years now. It's simply stunning! Let's start from the aspect many foreign people look for in Italian cars: style. It is undoubted that Walter de' Silva, the de-signer of the 156, 166 and 147, has done a great job (damn, now Seat got him!). The 156 is a very elegant car, but it doesn't lack the sporty feeling which is typical of Alfas. It almost resembles a coupe, with the back door handles that can hardly be seen. And, damn, the sporty feeling is not just a feeling! Once you start the 2.5 V6 engine you enter another world... It can quietly buzz at lower regimes, but when it's up on RPMs... You immediately recognize the typical Italian sport car sound, thanks to a fabulous exhaust system. Acceleration is very good (0-100 Km/h in 7.3 secs), and the engine is very brilliant and elastic thanks to its excellent torque curve. My 156 has Pack Sport 3, which gives her (!) a nice sporty look, and greatly enhances roadhold and stability (excellent roadhold for a front-drive car). Some of my friends have 156s too, with different engines. I've tried some of them, and I can tell you that the 2.4 JTD diesel and the 2.0 Twin Spark engine are very brilliant and powerful, despite their small size. Especially the Twin Spark series engines are a demonstration of how much a small engine can be exploited for power and torque. Still one word on the interiors: forget the cold, rational German interiors. You won't see a lot of displays and buttons on this car. Just the trip computer. And an automatic climate system, which is one of the best I've ever tried. Seats are of sport type (with Pack Sport), in very nice and strong sporty black leather. So is the turning wheel, in black leather, offering a great grip. Taller people may have some problems reading the instrumentation, somewhat covered, but... is it really a problem?

OWNER 5: Mr Eric Liew @ "redd" Ex-Italia Auto Alfa President.

Review date: 22 December 2006. Saving the best for last! Here's the review:

Rating - 5 out of 5

You've already read from the other reviewers their thoughts about the 156 2.5 V6, about the ownership experience, reliability, etc. However, italian cars are all about emotion and it wouldn't do the car any justice not to talk about the sensory experience of driving an Alfa Romeo, especially an Alfa V6.

No matter how you came about your first drive - a friend's car, a test vehicle at the dealership, your own 156 V6 - the first thing that hits you as you're walking towards the car is always how pretty it is. Some cars you can call handsome; others are labeled purposeful. Very few cars in this price range can truly be called beautiful, and the Alfa 156 is one of them. It's a feast for the eyes. The proportions are just right, with a slightly forward stance from the short back and long front overhang, making the car look as if it's constantly accelerating. The hidden rear door handles make the 156 look like a sporty coupe and are sources of endless entertainment. Alfas are traditionally best enjoyed in red or lighter tones where the styling lines really stand out, and the 156 is no different.

Open the door and the interior is more of the same. High-quality, solid plastic mixed with strategic patches of leather trim the interior, giving it that luxurious Italian feel. Those of you with Ferraris may recognise familiar design aspects in the 156 interior. Upholstery is luxurious leather embossed with the vaunted Alfa logo. Nothing is cheap here. Then it strikes you that this car is 6-years old, yet looks utterly modern and timeless. The dashboard and controls continue that trend. The 156 is the first of the modern Alfas to carry the twin cowled meters, carried over from Alfas of yore. The centre console is slanted towards the driver, clearly stating its purpose as a driver's car. Passengers tend to feel a bit left out inside a 156.

Slot in the key and fire up the engine, and it's your aural senses which are next stimulated. The Alfa V6 was voted one of the best sounding production engines of all time and the title is well deserved. At idle, there's a rich, low burble emanating from the six-pots up front. This is one car which isn't embarrassed of it's powerplant - it wants you to know it's there! Pop the bonnet and six gleaming chrome pipes stare back at you, rumbling with its own pulse. This is not merely an engine - this is automotive art at its finest. It's almost a sin to keep it covered under a metal bonnet.

Leave it in park and stab at the throttle and the low idle quickly turns into a bark as the rpms quickly climb up the rev counter. What's this? The little rev and speedo needle illuminate a reflective chrome ring at the edge of the gauges with a small spot of light. It's such a thrill to see that spot of light climb the perimeter as you rev the engine. Only the Italians would think of a little detail like that!

Ready for more sensory assault? Pop her into Drive and ease on the throttle. The 156 slides forward like any well-behaved European car as you slowly cruise the city streets. You notice that upshifting isn't the smoothest in its class but the Aisin autobox doesn't hunt for gears like in some other cars, either. This little gearbox certainly knows what it's doing. Select Sports mode and instantly, the gears drop a notch and the revs climb.

This is when you will start to see Mr Hyde making an appearance. In Sports mode, the smooth burble of the V6 quickly turns into a snarl. The car's very reflexes also seem to be heightened as a light tap on the throttle makes the car lurch forward, pinning you to your seat. Stand on the throttle and watch the rev needle surge to the vertical redline (again, another nice detail) as you're pressed deeper into the cushion. Feel your adrenaline levels climb with the rpms! Release the throttle and the animal snarl turns into a howl of regret. This car clearly likes revs and speed. The more you give it, the more it craves, driving you to an rpm-soaked frenzy.

Once you've recovered enough from your first encounter with the V6 beast, find some twisty backroads to see what this car can really do. For this purpose, it's best to slot the gears into Manual mode and drive it like real man. Find a corner, slot it into 2nd and dive into the turn. Nudge the steering wheel and the entire vehicle responds at the speed of thought! No manhandling here, this car is clearly a precision instrument capable of responding to your slightest whims. The stock suspension wallows a bit but the car hangs onto the tarmac for dear life while you hang onto the steering wheel for dear life. Still, there's no loss of confidence as every aspect of the car's handling is transmitted to you via the solid steering wheel. You're not quite sure how you know that there's still plenty of grip left in the front tire, but you know! You never knew cars could talk but this one is chatting your ears off.

Stand on the throttle as you exit the corner and the 156 slingshots like a bat out of hell, looking for more turns to devour. Turn after turn, sweepers, switchbacks, hairpins, all demolished in the same efficient manner. Efficient, but not sterile. There's no lack of noise as the engine snarls and screams it's battlecry. In fact, if you're not careful, you might find yourself adding to the soundtrack with a triumphant whoop, or a deranged laugh. The engine is screaming, the steering is talking to you, the tires are screeching in protest as you push them just a bit too hard, and you're laughing like a maniac. It's altogether possible to miss your passenger's cries of terror in that cacophony. Who said driving had to be a chore?

Even great sex must end sometime, and when you stop the 156 by the side of the road and kill the engine, it's almost with a note of regret. With the V6 shut off, the only sounds you hear are the tick-ticking of the fast cooling manifold and your own racing heartbeat. The revs may have dropped to zero, but your adrenaline high is going to last you for some time yet. Your view of what a car should be - no, of life itself - has changed. Never before did you imagine a mere car - a day-to-day tool - could bring you such pleasure and emotional release.

You step outside and walk a distance to see the car in its entirety. There she sits, as pretty as the first time you saw her, but now somehow a bit more menacing. She scowls at you, as if to say, "Now you know." Now you know why people still buy Alfas. Beneath that pretty designer dress lurks the heart of an animal. You don't know why, but you know you want one. You want one in the same way you wanted to kiss your first Valentine. You want one because you know its bad for you. You want one because it makes you want to go out and drive just for the sake of driving, not because you have to go somewhere.

As you lock the car up and walk away, you can't help but to turn around for one last look. There she is, safe and sound, right where you left her. Then it strikes you just what a silly thing that was to do - to take a last look at a car as if it was some cherished lover. You laugh, but you do it anyway, giving her one last look and looking forward to tomorrow when you get to drive her again.


OTHER QUOTES:

What to look for:

QUOTE No 1 (from source #2, www.italiaauto.net):: By “Redd” IA Alfa President. 15/11/2006.

“Wah! get it get it get it! anything else can fix later. sportwagons are rare, let alone V6 wagons.

the V6 engine is generally very tough as is the aisin q-system gearbox. usually no probs there. check mileage. belts are due every 60k kms, and waterpump around every 100k kms or second belt change. the V6 engine should consume very little oil. at worse mine drinks about 0.5L every 10k kms.

check for front suspension squeaks and rattles. heavy front weight of the V6 makes the front suspension go quicker than on other models. a good alfa mech should be able to verify this for you.

check brakes and tires. V6 is heavier on brakes and tires than other models.

when you buy the car do one round of fluid flushes, especially the ATF. use a good synthetic ATF like Motul ATF 1-A. flush ATF every 20k kms or 1 year and it shd last u a good long time.

It's a different engine. older tech but the V6's are generally tougher than the TS.”


QUOTE No 2 (source #3): “I would have said check the cambelt has been done, no need now! If you go for a test drive try to listen for any suspension creaks. Some need new bushes and other suspension components (top arm, antiroll bar links)

Check upper front wishbone for cracks in the rubber, front brake discs for grooves,
check brakes (97-98 might be a little soft), strange noises on tick-over from AC/service belt area (worn AC clutch/bearing) and second gear syncro (try engaging 2nd from high revs when coming into a corner/turn).”

And do not forget to enjoy the car!!!

QUOTE No 3 & 4 (Both by the same Person): Quote #3; "The thing is, though, with the exception of the simply appalling Arna, I’ve loved all Alfas. In fact I’ve argued time and again that nobody can be a petrolhead until they’ve owned one. It’s a rite of passage. Think of it as the great sex that leaves you with an embarrassing itch." - Jeremy Clarkson

Quote #4;
Referring to 79's Alfa GTV V6: ''Take the old GTV6 as a prime example. I owned one once and it was a nightmare. The worst car I’ve owned. Deeply uncomfortable, spectacularly impractical and blessed with steering so heavy that navigating into a London parking space was like navigating a donkey into a budgie cage.

Then there was the complete lack of quality. Nothing worked. And when you got one thing fixed something else would break on the way home. Once it tried to murder me. The linkage from the gearlever to the rear-mounted gearbox fell off and jammed the prop shaft, causing a sound not heard on earth since Krakatoa blew up, and the rear wheels to lock.But behind the oyster-like impregnability of its ergonomics and hidden in the sea of snot were two perfect pearls. The styling. And the howl from its V6 engine. In a tunnel, at 4000rpm, it was more sonorous than any music. It was like having your soul licked by angels.'' - Jeremy Clarkson.


156 2.5 V6 24v Brief Specification:

ENGINE:

Cylinders: V6, FWD transverse; Bore/stroke: 88x68.3
Valve: 4 per cylinder (24 valves) variable valve timing
Capacity: 2492cc
Power: 141kw (190hp) @6300rpm
Torque: 218Nm@5000rpm
Transmission: 6 speed manual or 4 speed AISAN Q-system Automatic


PERFORMANCE:
Top Speed: 240km/h Man; 233km/h Auto (STOCK)
0-100km/h: Manual: 7.2 secs; Auto: 8.5 secs

DIMENSIONS: (in) Length (mm): 4350, Width: 1725; Height: 1400; Weight: 1320kg. Wheelbase: -NA- => Stupid magazine, didn’t show the wheelbase (anyone can help?) (SOURCE: WHATCAR? Magazine)
Fuel consumption: Urban 17.1 mpg, Touring route: 33.2mpg. Combined 25mpg. Fuel tank capacity: 13.9 gallons (anyone know how to convert to litres?)
(SOURCE: WHATCAR? Magazine)

Price: RM175,000 NEW car price back in 2000. RM230,000 for SPORTSWAGON’s price in 2000. Today’s price ranged from 65,000 for 1999 model to about 120,000 for 2003 model. Sportswagon adds RM10k to 20k depending on condition.


Picture 3 below: Sportswagon model.

Friday, December 08, 2006

Used cars: Condition NOT Age matters...

I have friends who are desperately needed cars that they DON"T TAKE their TIME Choosing their "New" ride. They ended up with "BARGAIN" Cars, BUT often in Average or POOR condition. They failed to realise that CONDITION MATTERS MORE THAN AGE!!! Ie. a Retiree's 8 yrs old car in "Showroom" Condition is OFTEN BETTER and Cheaper to run than a 4 yrs old "Average condition car". In this scenario, both cars are priced around the RM5,000 variance...

Let's take Mr. Lin (Not in real name) as an example:

He's LOOKING for Satria 1.3, urgently needed one, budget as LOW as Possible. The PROBLEM is that there's about 130,000 UNITS OF Satrias available in Malaysia produced from 1995 to 2005. He should take his time choosing a GREAT one...

BUT no! He ended up buying a 1998 Model Satria 1.3 IMPULSIVELY at a "Bargain". The condition was Quite Poor... He ended up paying additional thousands repairing the car. He refused to reveal how much he bought the car but an educated guess (by me) would be around RM12,000. 12,000 add est. 3,000 for repairs = RM15,000 (ACTUAL COSTS).

With RM13,000, RM2,000 less than his Actual buying price, he can buy a 1997 (Slightly older) 1.3 Satria WITH AIRBAG, Low mileage, 1 owner, tiptop condition. (Yes, 1996 to 97 Satrias came with Driver's Airbag). IF ONLY HE HAS THE PATIENCE to shop around... There's after all 100,000+ units of Satrias on Malaysian road...

MY POINT is, Condition of cars NOT Age matters.

Example 2: There's 2 Honda Accord 2.2i up for sale. One is 1995 Accord SiR and another 1998 "Kah Motor" Accord 2.2i SOHC VTEC. Priced: One is RM43k another ALSO RM43k. BUT the 1995 model has ORIGINAL 2.2 DOHC VTEC Engine, Sunroof, Airbag, Elec Adj Semi-Bucket Seats, Leather seats, Climate Control, TCS, Autocruise, ABS, LOWER MILEAGE (Below 100,000km), 1 Owner, Original Paint, 40-something familyman owned, NO REPAIR NEEDED, 100% STOCK.

WHILE the 1998 model has ORIGINAL 2.2i SOHC VTEC Engine, Only common feature as 1995 Accord is "Autocruise" and "Leather seats", 3 owners, NEW Paint, Above 200,000km, Early 20's "Girl" owner. NOW, A "NORMAL" Malaysian would automatically go for the 1998 model, "LADY" OWNER, "SAME PRICE BUT 3 yrs NEWER". BUT what about hidden costs?

As it's not properly maintained, The 1998 Accord might need lots of repair... Eg. Driveshafts, Suspensions, Possible overhaul of Engine and/or Gearbox. Whereas the 1995 Accord is in A+ Condition... IN THE LONG RUN, It is WISER to Choose the 1995 model as it is MUCH CHEAPER TO RUN... ALSO, the 1995 Accord comes with ORIGINAL H22A Engine!!!

If you are buying USED cars... TAKE YOUR TIME... ALSO, Don't be fooled by "Younger car (Say 2001 model) at a LOW PRICE (But poor condition). Repairs and maintaining WOULD COSTS A LOT in the LONG RUN, often another RM3,000 to RM5,000 extra... IN CONTRAST, an "Older" car (Say 1998), Which priced "The Same" or RM1k to RM2k more with 1 Owner, LOW MILEAGE, Original Paint, Accident free, ALMOST PERFECT Condition with NO REPAIR NEEDED, would be a BETTER CHOICE... Why?

As there's Little or NO HIDDEN (or REPAIR) Costs, ie. Actual COST is MUCH MUCH Lower... GOOD LUCK in finding your IDEAL Used car... DON"T BE IMPULSIVE!

Saturday, November 25, 2006

Savvy Won 4 cars shootout in Taiwan! Malaysia Boleh!


MALAYSIA BOLEH!!! Just picked up an October Issue of "TAIWAN MOTOR" Magazine (PAGE 130 to 147)... SUPER COMPREHENSIVE test report... Comparing "SAVVY vs PICANTO vs MATIZ vs March"...

I'm actually a BANANA... Bought the magazine after seeing "SAVVY vs PICANTO vs MARCH vs MATIZ comparison on its magazine cover...

Being a BANANA, I can't read, just checked out the photos, Numbers (specs) AND the Ratings (in STAR)...

BELIEVE IT OR NOT, SAVVY WON! SAVVY WON! Yes, EDITOR's CHOICE. Savvy PWND its Competitors by being the only car with (Read and weep!): ABS+EBD, DUAL AIRBAGS, 15" low profile RIMS. Non-of its competitors have ABS and Airbag. Most of its competitors have 13" STEEL rims.

Savvy scored 5 Stars in ALL Except "Interior space" (4 stars). It scored 5 stars in:
1) Ride and Handling
2) Engine
3) Equipments

Interior space SAVVY only Loses out to Nissan MARCH. 0-100km/h SAVVY's the FASTEST. BUT the NVH, Savvy's one of the NOISIEST. THE REST I dunno how to read... Anyway, the SAVVY (test car)'s painted in WHITE! Da-mn GORGEOUS!

What else can I say... DO YOURSELF a Favour JUST BUY OCTOBER ISSUE of TAIWAN motor!!! and TRANSLATE it HERE! I was shocked, RM10 only! for a 450 PAGE foreign Magazine! Same PRICE as HYPERTUNE!!!

NOTE:
1) The Nissan March 1.3SLX's Previous Generation 90's model. Believe it or not, it was reintroduced 2 yrs back after complaints that The New "March Super"'s too expensive.
2) ALL 4 fall in the SAME PRICE RANGE. NT$400,000 (RM40,000)
3) The magazine Sing praises to Savvy's Ride and Handling, AMT Gearbox and Solidness.

Thursday, November 16, 2006

RM40,000. What CAR can you buy?

A lot of people most of which are YOUNG Grads asked me, "What NEW car choices do I have if I got RM40,000 budget. I told them, for NEW car, the choices are VERY VERY LIMITED. It's limited to: ANY PERODUA cars Except MyVi 1.3, Kembara, ATOS, SAVVY, Saga/Iswara, Picanto, Naza Sutera. IN SHORT, There's LESS than 10 choices available.

Now the Picture is very different if you are considering USED cars. Suddenly, you are SPOILED for Choices. For RM40,000, there's LOTS of Varieties of cars to Choose from in any forms...

But if you are getting LOANs (I'm sure FEW will have the money to PAY CASH RM40k!), I'm afraid you can only buy UPTO 11 yrs old cars (typically) with Lowish interest rates (Below 5%). Ie. Oldest 1995. After 11 years, YOU typically HAVE TO PAY CASH or ended up paying HIGHER interest rates (as high as 6%)! In this scenario, LUXURY cars such as BMW, Mercedes Benz, Porsche, Jaguar IS OUT as these cars will be too old by that time it Reaches the RM40k mark.

Case Example 1, I saw an ad in Lelong someone wanted to sell 1981 PORSCHE 944 for RM29,000!!! He is the 1st OWNER!, BUT CASH ONLY!!! If you have the CASH and the money to Maintain and Insure the car, then it's a good buy...

Case Example 2: This friend of mine was VERY EXCITED knowing that He can owned a 1992 MERCEDES 230E W124 (with AMG 17" rims, "77" no plate, bodykit, Automatic, Sunroof etc) for RM40,000. Ie. within his budget (Initially he thought). BUT he was disappointed, CANNOT GET LOAN as the car was too OLD... This means that he HAD to PAY CASH! Having ONLY 2 yrs work experience and still working as a TRAINEE, obviously he cannot afford... What a waste...

All is not LOST, depends on your criteria, RM40k still have LOTS and LOTS of "CLASSY" and/or RESPECTABLE Japanese and "COLD European" cars which is below 11 yrs old and can still obtain Loan... Here are some of My recommendations:

EXECUTIVE Japanese Car:


1) Honda Accord 2.0i (1998) OR 2.2i(A) 1997 = RM40k
2) Nissan Cefiro V6 3.0i 1998 = RM32,000 (This is the BEST V6 engine, surprisingly Economical for a 3.0L car, But Road tax RM2000!). A 2.0iV6 model is RM5-7k more and Road tax RM391.00.
3) Toyota Camry 2.2GX 1997. RM36,000. The 1994-97 old model.
4) Ford Telstar 2.0i Ghia. 2001 model: RM42,000. THIS is the Newest "2000cc" used NON-Proton your money can buy... 5 YRS OLD for RM42k, Note that BRAND NEW price is RM110,000! (It is actually Mazda 626 with Ford badge hence LOWER Maintenence and reasonable priced spare parts). I am a happy OWNER one of these...

Executive "COLD" Continental car (ie. Weaker demand) which still can obtain loan easily.


1) Audi A4 1.8i Non-turbo, 1997 RM43,000.
2) VOLVO S40 2.0i Non-turbo 1999. RM48,000. But beware of the High maintenence costs and reliability.
3) Peugeot 406 2.0 Deluxe 2000, RM45,000.

Other 4 door cars:


1) Mazda Lantis 1.8i(A) Hatchback 1997, RM32,000. Stylish car with "Pillarless doors". In DEMAND, hence the Highish price (for the age).
2) HYUNDAI ELANTRA 1.8iGLS(A) 2003(!), RM38,000(!). Wonder why RESALE value so LOW. Note that brand new: RM90,000. Within 3 yrs value dropped so MUCH! Bad news for 1st owner BUT GOOD NEWS for YOU!
3) HONDA Civic EK 1.6i VTEC 1997, RM42,000. Another HOT Demand car, Very HIGH resale value and ENDLESS Modification OPTIONS...

4) Toyota Corolla AE101 SEG 1.6 1995, RM29,000. This 7th Generation Corolla, according to many IS THE BEST 1.6 Corolla. Known as "MINI LEXUS", better than AE111 and Altis 1.6. Why? AE111 (1996-2000 model) Corolla Shrunk in size, more cramped, boxier looking, designed and build in middle of recession=A STEP Backward in quality and refinement. BELIEVE IT OR NOT the AE101 SEG: 0-100km/h in 9.7 secs (M), 11 secs (A). That's faster than The newer AE111 SEG and ALTIS 1.6 (which is underpowered), lose out to Altis 1.8 VVTI though. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

IF YOU WANT FAST car for RM40k, there's the following choices:



1) VOLVO 850 T5 2.3i WAGON (97 onwards known as V70). 1997 model priced RM43,000 only. This TURBOCHARGED car has a Top speed of 230km/h and 0-100km/h in 7.3 SECS!!! It's so fast that our POLIS used as Chase car. Though Maintenence is HIGH and Reliability is BAD. But if it's in GREAT Condition with low mileage and Service record or 1 owner, then GRAB IT!

2) PROTON PUTRA 1.8i DOHC 2000 model RM34,000. This is, in my opinion THE BEST PROTON! Very stylish. 0-100km/h below 8 seconds and top speed 210+ km/h. VERY WORTH THE MONEY!
(I Recommend it over the Satria GTI as I feel it's More practical with Boot and more rear seat space, more exclusive (Rarer), AUTOMATIC Option, and slightly better Looking!).

3) BMW 325i E36 1994. RM40,000. ANOTHER POWERFUL car, Just missed the cut for Lowish Interest rate loans (more difficult as oldest recommended year to obtain LOAN is 11 yrs old). But If you CAN GET LOAN, this is the ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE. FUN car. The IT CAR (Very CLASSY). Rock solid Resale value. Maintenence and Spare parts costs are not an issue as there's MANY Units on the road and TONS of "CHOP SHOPS" and spare part shops...

SUV Options:


1) Toyota RAV4 2.0i 5dr. 1995. RM43,000.
2) Ford Ranger Pickup 2.5i Turbodiesel 2001 (M). RM41,000. Auto add another RM2-4k)

Other cars:

- See motortrader, for "abnormal National car" such as "Wira EVO, Satria 1.8 GSR, Waja Mivec, Perdana V6 Twin Turbo. Ie. "Modified MILOTINS". Not recommended as the BODY and CHASSIS can't cope with the power, unless you reinforced it. But few will bother to do that coz it's EXPENSIVE. Also, some have no JPJ approval.

- In motortrader, There's FTOs, RX7, Levin AE86, Silvia 180SX, Original EVO1, MR2 (Ferrari like version) within the 40k budget... BUT MOST ARE OVER 11 yrs old and DIFFICULT TO GET LOAN. But If you are lucky and able to get loan, then your choice will be even wider...

MPVs

I won't recommend as This "write-up" is meant for Young Grads or Below 30 yrs old with 40k budget to spend.

Wednesday, November 15, 2006

REVIEW: Honda Odyssey LA GREAT 3.5 V6 1999-2004

Honda LAGreat Exclusive (Aka. Odyssey) lasting appeal



In this Used car Review, I'm reviewing an MPV called Honda LAGREAT Exclusive for JDM and Odyssey in American market. In Malaysia, ALL of grey importers import the JDM model as it's Right Hand Drive (Duh!) JDM model is the Same as American version except it's lesser specced. Eg. JDM version have no "Voice recognition software", and lesser airbags...

The LaGreat became a force in the minivan market after it was redesigned and re-engineered as a larger van in 1999.

In its reincarnation, this comfortable-riding, front-wheel-drive van was the first to pioneer third-row seats that flip and fold down easily into a cavity in the floor at the back of the vehicle. Honda officials called this rear-seat unit the "Magic Seat," and it was quickly appreciated by exhausted moms everywhere who had come to hate lifting out the big, bulky third-row seats of other minivans whenever they needed room for large cargo. Today, the LaGreat still has the flip-and-fold third-row seats. They've been copied by other car companies, too.

The LaGreat is the first minivan in this country with a nifty, fold-away center console tray between the front seats. It's a feature that continues today. The LaGreat also have 7 or 8 seating configuration. The middle row captain chair seat can be pushed together (combined) and viola, 8 seating mode...

High technology

The Odyssey LaGreat is a high-tech minivan. The optional navigation system has a large screen that sits up high on the dashboard for convenient viewing. And there's voice recognition software, so a driver can give some verbal commands, rather than distractedly using hands all the time at the nav screen, to find and set locations.

The Odyssey Lagreat's interior quietness can be akin to that in a luxury car, thanks to noise-cancellation technology that's included in some uplevel models.

The, "anti-noise" balances out engine noise by broadcasting the sounds through Odyssey's audio system speakers, thus cancelling out any incoming engine noise. No other minivan has this. Parents should be aware, however, that the Odyssey Lagreat noise cancellation is not programmed to cancel out children's voices, though there might be times when it would come in handy.

Engine technology
Honda engineers have a reputation for getting the most out of their engines—the most power, reliability and miserly fuel use.

The Odyssey Lagreat's V6 is no exception. Though it has to power a rather heavy vehicle—weighing more than 4,300 pounds—the Odyssey Lagreat powerplant developed a healthy, 210hp and 240 lb-ft of torque at 4500 rpm.

It was enough to move the van in a sprightly manner, both in the city and on the highway, and the five-speed transmission managed shifts smoothly.

A safety leader
The Odyssey laGreat is a Best Pick of the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety in frontal crash testing.

Indeed, every Odyssey LaGreat comes standard with a full complement of safety features, including curtain airbags for all three rows of passengers, front-seat side airbags, anti-lock brakes, stability control and traction control. Unlike the Toyota Sienna, though, the Odyssey LaGreat does not offer all-wheel drive.

Odds and ends
I just wish Honda could engineer its sliding side doors as well as it does its engines.
In the test Odyssey LaGreat, they annoyed me with their slow open-and-close motions, and when I tried to help them along by manually yanking on the door handles, they resisted my efforts.

Year to Year Changes

2000 Honda offered a class-exclusive accessory for 2000: a satellite-linked onboard navigation system, optional only on the upscale EX minivan. Similar to the one available in the TL sedan from Acura, Honda's luxury division, the navigation system used an in-dash touch screen to display a map or point-to-point driving directions. Otherwise, little changed for 2000.
2001: TRANSMISSION RECALLED in America for 1st few batches of Odyssey LaGreat.
2002 Odyssey LaGreat's 3.5-liter V6 engine gained 30 hp and replaced its problematic 4-speed automatic transmission with a 5-speed for 2002. Minor cosmetic changes, retuned suspension, and standard rear disc brakes vs. drums also were new. Front side airbags joined standard ABS and traction control. Newly optional were leather upholstery and a DVD rear-seat entertainment system.

USER(S) REVIEW source : autos.msn.com:

-------------------------------------

1) Great Van!"
2004 Honda Odyssey EX w/ Leather/ Nav System
By: An MSN Autos Consumer
Owned: Less than 1 year
Review ID: #457937
9.0 Overall Rating

Pros:

I looked at the Sienna, MPV & Quest before deciding the Odyssey was the best fit for my family. I had a '93 Mitsubishi Montero. I was searching for a minivan that was reliable, comfortable, had a good warranty, and cargo capacity. The Odyssey handles well, rides like a car. It is easy to get in and out of especially for my toddler. The heated seats work extremely well! The folding third row is so easy. Once folded, there is a lot of room for cargo, more than I can imagine using! Even when the 3rd row is not folded, the cargo area is very big. The navigation system is easy to use. The gas mileage overall is about 18mpg.

Cons:
I wish the center storage was a little better. I was used to having more storage in my Montero.


Overall Review: The Odyssey is a great van. I would recommend to anyone!

-----------------------------------
2) "2004 Odyssey: A very good vehicle, value, safe, performance, reliability"
2004 Honda Odyssey EX
By: Gary from Overland Park, KS
Owned: Less than 1 year
Review ID: #457883
8.7 Overall Rating

Pros:
1.) Contrary to others I like the styling (I like the 2005 as well though). 2.) Regular gas (Sienna requires premium). 3.) Power (240 HP). I sound "geekish" saying this but this van is actually fairly fast. 4.) Gas mileage is pretty good for a 4,600 lb vehicle. (Mine has been about 18-19 in city and 24-26 on highway). 5.) Very safe (NHTSB ratings are outstanding). Wife and kids are in this vehicle. 6.) Value. We paid $25,000 out the door for our EX. Thought I was getting a lot for a fair price. 7.) Extremely low insurance costs (2004 Odyssey is less expensive to insure than my 1996 Accord. Weird.) 8.) Very smooth on the highway. Great road trip vehicle.


Cons:
1) Wish the interior looked a little better. Sienna interior is nicer IMO. 2.) Didn't like the fact that 2 weeks after we bought our's a transmission recall came out. We have not had any problems at all though (I've heard that Honda will replace even if past the 36K mile warranty). 3.) The fuel gauge - Fill it up and the needle never really shows full. Also, the low fuel light comes on with 5-6 gallons left in the tank! This is not a huge deal but somewhat annoys me. I'm used to it now though. 4.) At times there is some pronounced road noise but nothing that is deafening or ear-splitting. Could be quieter though. I've heard that Honda addressed this in the 2005's re-model.


Overall Review:
Overall a very good vehicle at a good value. Tons of room and power. Pretty good mileage for a vehicle this size (using regular gas). Low insurance costs. I like the styling but I tend to be a conservative person. Interior could be a little nicer (I like the Siena's interior better).

------------------------------------

3) "My Dream Car Gone Bad"
1999 Honda Odyssey LX
By: Big Al from Rhode Island
Owned: 5 years
Review ID: #418708
4.8 Overall Rating


Pros:
Lots of interior room, although the seats are not as comfortable as my other vehicles.
Cons:
Tranny, tranny, tranny.

Overall Review:
Replaced the tranny twice, never ran like new. Sold it to someone who knew about the tranny problems but liked the price. Had to twist the service department to fix tranny second time. He acted like I was crazy. Looking at the other postings, I realize I made the right decision to sell. Driving a Chevy conversion van that runs like a dream. Go figure.

-------------------------------------------

4) "Worth the money"
1999 Honda Odyssey EX
By: Pete - Canton, OH
Owned: 4 years
Review ID: #414105
8.3 Overall Rating

Pros:
Clean solid interior, good curb appeal, dependable - always starts. Great on a road trip! Tons of room.

Cons:
Transmission needed replaced, but honda covered it - they extended the warranty (7 yr - 100,000). A couple of the interior knobs have broken???? and need replaced.

Overall Review:
I'd buy it again. We don't do a ton of miles, but it has never left me stranded. The transmission problem was covered, to Honda's credit, and that was out of the normal warranty. I think at year #7 I'll unload this car and it will STILL be worth a good buck on the open market.

-------------------------------------
5) "Dissappointed"
1999 Honda Odyssey EX
By: RoleD
Owned: 2 years
Review ID: #399785
4.8 Overall Rating

9 Styling
9 Performance
6 Interior
5 Quality
1 Recommendation

Pros:
The size and folding back seat are great

Cons:
Transmission may have to be replaced. Replaced mine at 51,000

Overall Review:
Would not by a used 99 because the transmission may have to be replaced.

----------------------------------------------

AND LOTS MORE REVIEW AT: http://autos.msn.com


Honda Odyssey 3.5 V6 VTEC Specifications
2004 ODYSSEY EX and EX-L
ENGINE . .
Type: Aluminum-Alloy V-6
Displacement (liters) 3.5 (3471cc) 3.5 (3471cc)
Horsepower @ rpm (SAE net) 210 (156kw)@5,500
Torque (lb.-ft. @ rpm) 242@4,500
Compression Ratio 10.0:1
Valve Train: SOHC 24-Valve 3-Rocker VTEC(TM)
Fuel System: Multi-Point Fuel Injection
Ignition System: Electronic w/Immobilizer

DRIVE TRAIN
Type: Front-Wheel Drive
Automatic Transmission: 4-Speed (Replaced with 5 speed auto in 2002).
Final Drive Ratio 4.2
. . .
BODY/SUSPENSION/CHASSIS
Body Type: Unit Body
Suspension: Front Strut/Rear Double Wishbone
Stabilizer Bar (mm., front) 22.0
Power Rack-and-Pinion Steering
Turning Diameter, Curb-to-Curb (ft.) 37.7
4-Wheel Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS)
Electronic Brake Distribution System (EBD)
Traction Control System (TCS) (NA in EX model)
Wheels 16 x 6.5 Steel w/ Full Covers 16 x 6.5 Alloy
Tires: All-Season 225/60R16 225/60R16

EXTERIOR DIMENSIONS
Wheelbase (in.) 118.1 118.1
Length (in.) 201.2 201.2
Height (in.) 68.5 69.7
Width (in.) 75.6 75.6
Track (in., front/rear) 66.1/66.1
Curb Weight (lbs.) 4310 to 4409
Towing Capacity (lbs.) 3500
Headroom (in., front/middle/rear) 41.2/40.0/38.9 41.2/40.0/38.9
Legroom (in., front/middle/rear) 41.0/40.0/38.1 41.0/40.0/38.1
Shoulder Room (in., front/middle/rear) 62.6/64.5/61.7 62.6/64.5/61.7
Hiproom (in., front/middle/rear) 57.8/67.0/49.1 57.8/67.0/49.1
Cargo Volume (cu. ft., behind rear seat) 38.1 38.1
Cargo Volume (cu. ft., maximum) 146.1 146.1
Passenger Volume (cu. ft.) 170.7 170.7

FUEL CONSUMPTION:
City: 18mpg
Highway: 26mpg
Averaged: 23mpg

PERFORMANCE:

Top speed:
112MPH (180km/h) limited (JDM spec)
130MPH (210km/h) (US spec)

0-60mph: 8.6 secs

ADDITIONAL NOTE: Apparently in America, the 1st few batches 1999 to 2000 model of “LAGREAT Exclusive” had transmission problems on the 4 speed models. At least 3 of them experienced transmission problem before 80,000 miles. Dunno whether the JDM models are affected…
Also, the power sliding doors is not working properly, at LEAST 10 of them said mechanism problem, slow opening and closing doors, some wished they can convert to Manual sliding door…

IN MALAYSIA. There's about 150+/- units of JDM right hand drive Version (Japanese spec) imported by grey imports. Today, it is priced between RM92,000 for a 1999 model and RM115,000 for 2001 model. Note that the price is VERY CLOSE TO the smaller Odyssey 2.3i. A 2000 model Honda Lagreat exclusive is yours for RM105,000. As a comparison, a 2000 model Odyssey 2.3i ALSO costs RM105,000. You might think, What??? SAME PRICE AS Odyssey 2.3i? Why is it so?

Answer: Due to: 1) prohibitive Road tax (RM2500++ per month), 2) Highish Fuel consumption (18mpg City driving wor!), 3) Well known transmission problem (Worldwide recall back in 1999-2000), 4) TOO BIG (in Size) for Malaysian taste.

Bottom line: A Value for money buy compared to the Smaller 2.3L Odyssey if you are RICH and can afford RM2500++ road tax and bear with 23mpg (Averaged) fuel consumption.

As a comparison, a year 2000 model recond Smaller Toyota Estima 3.0i costs RM125,000. That's 20,000 more than the LaGreat!!!

Thursday, November 09, 2006

Best time to buy a NEW/USED car...

When is the right time to buy a new car? One might asked. To find out, read on.

Case example 1: A relative of mine learned the hard way. Her car was registered on End of November 1999. But when trade in time, it was deemed as 1999 model though ironically, it is only less than 6 weeks away from year 2000. It's like "so near yet so far" scenario.

Another case of registering a new car in the wrong time and losing out is like my current car. Why?

Case example 2: My Ford Telstar was registered in late January 1999. Technically, it should be a year 1999 car. But no! Ironically, it was manufactured in November 1998. What a big bummer... As a result, it's deemed 1998 model. How pathetic!!! Why this problem happened?

Due to KIASUNESS! Or afraid to lose. Apparently, the previous owner is KIASU, want to book and register a car before Chinese New Year just for the sake of "Showing off". Chinese New Year usually fall between Late January to Early February. Buying a car before Chinese New Year means taking delivery by late January. The consequence?

Unless it's a Perodua or a Hot selling car such as Toyota Vios which manufacturing and sales turnover are high, (Eg. stock turnover within 1 week); chances are previous year stock will roll on until February and sometimes up to 6 months plus from date of manufacturing to date of sale. In which it's typical for Imported cars such as FIAT, Imagine "NEW" 2004 stock of Fiat Coupe HAVEN'T CLEAR).

As a result, he/she often would ended up with a car manufactured A YEAR BEFORE!!! When it's time to sell the car, though it's registered in say February 2007, IT IS STILL MANUFACTURED in NOV 2006!!! It'll be deemed as 2006 model!!!

Therefore, according to my humble observation, the best time to buy a new car is between March to October. March because by then typically MOST CKD car manufacturer has cleared the previous year stock. Till October, why? Because buying a car in the month of November means losing out. As in case example 1 above, it's registered 1 month to the subsequent year (eg. 2007) and is deemed as 2006 model BUT ironically after owning for 31 days, it's 2007. Hence it is assumed that you've owned the car for 1 year though in reality, you only owned the car for 31 days!!! Think and ponder about it...

NOW let's shift your attention to used cars. The best time NOT to get a used car is 1 month before ANY FESTIVE SEASONS and after getting your bonus (End of December to mid January). Why?
Cause most used car dealers will jack up the price during that period. The rest of the time IS a GOOD time to buy a used car.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED time is:
1) RECESSION time! Strange but true, as Almost everyone will dispose their car DESPERATELY at bargain basement price. Same theory applies to buying a property, ALMOST everyone will sell their property at Riduculously LOW price out of desperation.

2) FOLLOWED by the month of December where most car owners desperate to get rid of their car before the value drop further.
3) Also, AFTER CHINESE NEW YEAR OR HARI RAYA. There are LOTS of KIASU jokers desperately getting RID of their "Old cars" for NEWER car(s). As a result, there would be oversupply of used cars as LOTS of people traded in or sold their cars.

Also, for Car dealers, the "CASH IN" or "PEAK season" period is over as the "URGE" of buying car(s) already DIMMED after Festive seasons. There would be OVERSUPPLY of USED cars as people "Dumping" their Old car(s) for NEWER car(s). Thus, A GREAT BARGAIN AWAITS!!!

Good luck to those Shopping for car(s), whether NEW or USED.

Sunday, October 22, 2006

FULL REVIEW: 1998 Toyota Camry 3.0i V6 24v Quad-Cam

In this blog, I am reviewing 1998 Toyota Camry 3.0i V6. It’s imported from Australia and sold in limited numbers in Malaysia. Due to the prohibitive road tax and High Fuel Consumption fear, Camry 3.0i V6 is a Rare model as 9/10 Camry sold in Malaysia were 4 cyl 2.2i model. Here’s the summarized article 2/3 is taken from a defunct Malaysian car magazine, Highway Malaysia, January 1998 issue.

Continuing on the theme of international styling and image, the new Camry is distinctive but not radical (ie. Won’t turn heads). The designer spent a great deal of time in the wind tunnel shaping the Camry to be as aerodynamic as possible. The outcome? A 0.30Cd of Co-efficient of drag. All surfaces, including the door handles have been kept as flush as possible and the corners rounded off. The front bumper is contoured to smoothly direct airflow around and above the car and airflow around the whole body is smooth and there are no protrusions to cause turbulence. The front and rear windscreens are bonded to the bodyshell, reducing the gap to just a few millimeters, while the side window glass is positioned as flush as possible which contributed to the low Co-efficient of drag.

The new Camry is a larger car than before, but somehow the new styling cleverly disguise the bulk. The wheelbase is now 2670mm, a generous increase OF 5mm which resulted the length extended to 4755mm, 30mm longer than before. The width is now 12mm more than its predecessor, while the overall height is now 9mm higher.

INTERIOR:

Due to the exterior dimensions increase, the interior space also increased and the level of luxury fittings improved significantly. There’s wood grain trim laced around the dashboard with supple leather upholstery. Both front seats are electronically adjustable with driver side having 6-way adjustable.


The odometer and tripmeter display are now in digital form. The Camry comes with many convenient features such as power windows with anti-jam mechanism, central locking with COBRA Alarm and Immobilizer. Also, it has additional 12v outlets. It has plenty of storage space with lockable glovebox, front door pockets, centre console box which doubles as armrest AND two Cupholders with dedicated lid. Rear passengers has great leg/head and shoulder rooms with space for 3 full size adults or 4 (YES 4!!!) childrens each with rear seatbelts and headrests
For the In-car entertainment, it came with Kenwood AM/FM Cassette with RDS and 10 disc CD-Changer at the boot with steering wheel remote control with controls the volume, station and tracks without taking the hands off the steering wheel.


SAFETY:

The new Camry lays claim to being the safest Camry yet, exceeding all current and foreseeable crash test criteria for North America, Europe and Asian countries. Interestingly, it is 6 years ahead of tough Australian Design Rules of passive safety. All these were achieved with the help of Toyota’s in House GOA (Global Outstanding Assessment). GOA is claimed to be one of the strictest crash test criteria standards in the industry. For example, in frontal collision tests, the accepted European standard is 56km/h, but Toyota designed it for a higher impact speed of 65km/h.

The New Camry is the First Locally assembled Japanese car to have two front airbags as standard. The airbag system makes use of electronic sensors for fool-proof operation. The sensor is designed to determine the severity of the front collision and inflate the airbag(s) if exceeds 25km/h within milliseconds.

The brakes is equipped with 4 disc brakes system with front being ventilated. It has standard electronic 3 channel/4 sensor ABS.


ENGINE/TRANSMISSION

The heart of the new Camry V6 is not the same as the one in the previous generation (which is imported and sold in a small number in Malaysia). A major difference is that the engine is “ALL-Aluminium” and 40kgs lighter. It is said to share many of the same materials and design architecture as the Lexus LS400.

The timing of the 24 valves has been carefully set to ensure strong curve in the lower end of the speed range for responsiveness. The V6 engine delivers 134KW of DIN Power (183hp) at 5200rpm and 267Nm of torque at 4400rpm. It has 3 way catalytic converter and meets the current emission control standards set by the Malaysian Government.

Only a 4 speed Automatic transmission with Electronic controls is available. The new transmission has “intelligence” and is so clever that it does away with the previous “POWER/ECONOMY” Switch. An extra feature of the gearbox is a lock-up clutch which eliminates slip-induced power loss. Cruise control is a standard feature. For practical reasons, in automatically disengages whenever the brake pedal is depressed. It also won’t activate at speed below 40km/h.

The Camry has 4 independent suspensions with front being :McPherson Struts and coil springs, lower arms with stabilizer bar in a sub-frame mounting. The lower control arms of the front McPherson struts are forged in 1 piece for less weight and greater rigidity. For the rear, a dual link arrangement is used with McPherson struts and coil springs. It also has anti-roll bar in a sub-frame mounting (like the front).


My EXPERIENCE: BUT AND A BIG BUT. The suspension setting is SOFT, and tuned for comfort only. “Whacking corners” is strongly discouraged in this car as it will understeer easily and/or cause discomfort to passengers. If you loved to drive fast on corners or ZIGZAGGING between lanes, this car is not for you UNLESS you upgrade to harder springs/shocks. Instead, it is at home at Highways, driving at a cruising speed or high speed. In fact, 180km/h feels like 110km/h. Super quiet, super stable. It is designed for American roads (As it’s the best-selling car in America from 1998 to 2001) which consist mostly LONG, STRAIGHT roads. Ride comfort is FIRST CLASS akin to it’s sister car, the LEXUS ES300.

The rack and pinion power steering is perfectly weighted which gives the driver a good control feedback of the car… The smoothness was really amazing and the car is PHREAKING QUIET! Engine barely audible at idle and the noise only came alive after revving past 5000rpm!!! Top speed is electronically limited to 210km/h as it’s build in Australia, hence Aussie specs. A sensible guess is 225km/h without the limiter.


FINAL SAY: The Camry 3.0i V6 is freaking RARE in Malaysia. Like I said earlier, only 10 out of 100 (or 1/10) Camrys’ sold in Malaysia are 3.0i V6 Quad-cam 24v model. The Camry is SO good that it’s American Best selling car for 3 yrs in a row beating the Accord and the Ford Taurus. Being No.1 in a HIGHLY Competitive market is NOT EASY! A check in MSN Car Owner’s review shows an averaged 8.7/10 points rating with 3 / 4 of them giving 8 /10 ratings and above and half of them keeping the car (mostly 1999) for another 5 years (up to 2010!) or would buy another CAMRY! SELECTED COMMENTS:

1) “Bought this car brand new from the dealer back in 02/1999. Owned it for 7 years now and has 105K miles on it. The only maintainance that I did was oil change, breaks after 80,000 miles, and tires and wipers of course. I sat down and I calculated how much this car cost me in maintaiance so far including oil changes and tires, It came up to $1900 in seven years. Very realiable and smooth until now. I am keeping this car until it stops although I am doubtful that this will ever happen. I am planning to get 300K miles out of it.” (OVERALL RATING: 9 / 10)

2) “If you want the most dependable car in the world, this may be your best choice unless you tend to get bored easily due to the lack of certain excitements.” (OVERALL RATING: 9.6 /10)

3) This is an excellent vehicle. I purchased this car new 6 yrs ago, and have had no problems with it. Currently it has more than 250K miles, and still starts up, and drives like the day I bought it. My father in-law says it drives and runs better then his 2002 Honda Accord. Even the leather and all other interior materials have held up. Over all this has been an excellent vehicle and I hope to put on another 150K miles before I sell it. (OVERALL RATING: 10 /10)

4) Having owned this car for about six years, I can say that reliability is one of its greatest assets. It is a beautiful car with a silky smooth powertrain and a terrific ride! Seating comfort is another big plus, and even the rear seats are surprisingly comfortable on long trips. Overall, a luxury car without the ridiculous price tag! This is definitely the best car I've owned! (OVERALL RATING: 10 / 10)

5) Great power from the V6, excellent 4 speed AT, typical Toyota, everything works as advertised. reasonable gas mileage at 25mpg. Have used for nearly 4 years and 57K miles. (OVERALL RATING: 9.7 / 10)



BRIEF SPECIFICATIONS:

Engine: FWD. V6 2995cc, Quad-Cam 24valves EFI. All aluminium cylinder head and block with bore/ stroke of 87.5/83mm and compression ratio 10.5:1

Max Power: 134kw DIN (183hp) @ 5200rpm
Max Torque: 267Nm@4400rpm

Gearbox: 4 speed Electronic auto transmission with torque converter and intelligent programming.

Front suspension: Independent McPherson struts and coil-springs, lower arms, stabilizer bar with sub-frame mounting. Rear suspension: McPherson. Dual link, damper, struts and coil springs, anti-roll barwith sub-frame mounting.

Wheels/tyres: 15” alloy/205/65R15
Brakes: Ventilated discs/drums with 4 channels and sensor ABS.
Dimensions:
Length: 4760mm, Width: 1785mm, Height: 1420mm, Wheelbase: 2670mm.
Front and rear track: 1545mm and 1520mm
Ground clearance: 145mm. Weight: 1300kgs
Fuel tank cap: 70L

Performance:
Top Speed: 210km/h, electrically limited (Australian regulations)
0-100km/h: 8.6 secs. (Tested)

PRICE and NOTE: RM165,000 NEW back in 1998. Today: RM58,000 average (or lower) for 1998 V6 3.0i 24v model. Freaking RARE in Malaysia. Often bought as Company car(s) as typical Malaysians are turned off by the high road tax (RM1300 est. P.A.), high fuel consumption perception (due to 3.0 V6). Think of it as Budget Lexus ES300 (Same Engine, Suspensions, Gearbox and Refinement but different Exterior and interior styling). Grab it if you found one. 100% Worth the money!

Standard Equipments:

Air Conditioning with Climate controlCruise Control

Elec Adj front seats (6 way driver seats) with lumbar support
Leather seats

Locks, Power Door withCOBRA Anti-theft systemCup Holders2x 12v Sockets (One lighter, one accessories)

Steering Wheel, 4 way adjustableWindows, Power (4x) with one touch driver Air Bags, Driver and Passenger SideChild Safety Seat AnchorsLocks, Child Safety

Rear 3 point seatbelts Kenwood, AM/FM with Cassette + 10 disc CD-Changer

“Secret Box” compartment (see picture above). Power steering5 pieces Alloy wheels with 205/65VR15 tyres

Woodgrain trim panels around the dashboard.

APPENDIX (23/10): This generation of Camry is sold in Malaysia between 1998 to early 2002. The estimated sales figures as follows: 2.2i: 14,000 units +/- (Averaged 280 units sold per month). The 3.0i is on sale from 1998 to 2000 only. During the facelift in 2000, the 3.0i model is dropped. Toyota imported about 600 units of the Camry 3.0i from Australia between 1998 to 2000. This means that around 95% of the Camry sold in Malaysia were of 2.2i model. Like I say, If you see a good used 3.0i V6 Camry on sale, GRAB IT!!!

Monday, October 09, 2006

To New car dealers. Trade in price of old car matters...

In order to secure sales... Lowish trade in value often turned potential buyer off. Let me relate 2 case studies involving Hondas.

The first case study involved Honda and Toyota. Ever wonder why The New Vios outsold the City by 2:1 every month? Besides more aggressive marketing campaign (TV, Radio), sponsoring cars for Shell Fuel Economy Challenge, the MOST IMPORTANT reason is LOW Trade in of old cars for their new cars.

Case example, my Auntie was interested in fuel economical Compact family car. She wanted to trade in her Black 1999 Perdana V6 for a new car. She shortlisted her choice to City VTEC and Vios 1.5G as both within her budget. She prefer the more spacious City VTEC and wanted to buy, BUT and a BIG BUT, The Dealer offered RM32,000 only for her Perdana V6. She felt shocked over the LOW LOW trade in value. Next stop, UMW Toyota Showroom in Sec 19, P.J., The salesman in Toyota is Not only friendly but offered RM2000 Merdeka discount AND WAY HIGHER trade in value too. The dealer offered RM39,000 trade in price for her Perdana V6. To cut the story short, she ended up booking the Vios.

Case study 2: Ford and Honda. My friend is keen on buying a Compact SUV to replace his ageing 9 years old Toyota RAV4. He narrowed his choices to Ford Escape 2.3i and Honda CRV 2.0i. He visited both Ford and Honda Showrooms and test driven and compared both cars. The Escape wins on specifications (Leather, Large sunroof, electronic seats adjust, Bodykits, more powerful 2.3i engine from Mazda 6), and Price. His mind goes for the Ford, But being a fan of Honda, his heart goes for the CRV.

The problem is that Honda dealer don't know how to secure sales. Offered RM45,000 trade in price for the RAV4 with no discount (but offered 2 yrs free maintenence and V-Kool). In the end, he chose Ford. Why? Cash discount (He had chosen that over 0% Interest rates), 3 yrs warranty, RM55,000 trade in value for the RAV4. (that's 10,000 less + estimated RM8000 cash discount = RM18,000 less than CRV.

So Honda and other new car dealerships, the ball is on your side, buckle up and do something about your Trade in price of old cars before you lose your sales to your rivals... AND the the attitude (eg. friendly, prompt, helpful) of Sales Representative(s), Oh! And the financing as well especially the Interest rates and monthly repayments.

Tuesday, September 12, 2006

SPECIFICATIONS: PROTON PUTRA and WIRA 1.8I DOHC (in bracket)

DETAILED SPECIFICATIONS: PROTON PUTRA and WIRA 1.8EXI DOHC (in bracket)


1) Engine:

4 cyl in-line 1834cc DOHC 16v ECI-MULTI fuel injection
Bore & stroke: 81x89mm, Compression ratio: 10.5:1
Cast iron block and light alloy head (Wira all same)


2) Power:

Max power/torque: 140hp@6500rpm/167Nm@5500rpm (Wira same)


3) Drivetrain:
Front wheel drive, 5 speed manual/4 speed automatic with Overdrive mode
(Wira 1.8 DOHC – 5 speed manual only (initially in first 2 batches). 4 speed auto – option offered in 3rd batch from 1999-2000)

Manual:
1st: 3.083
2nd: 1.950
3rd: 1.285
4th: 0.940
5th: 0.777
Rev: 3.080
Final drive: 4.320

(Wira same)

Automatic:
1st: 2.846
2nd: 1.581
3rd: 1.000
4th: 0.685
Rev: 2.176
Final drive: 4.007 (Wira same)


4) Dimension (mm) and weights (kg): (Wira in bracket)
Length: 4230 (4360)
Width: 1690 (same)
Height: 1365 (1385)
Wheelbase: 2440 (2500)
Fr Track: 1450 (same)
Rr Track: 1460 (same)
1055kg (1100kg)
Turning circle: 10.2m (same)


5) Body/Chassis:

Suspension: Front: Integral MacPherson struts, anti-roll bar. Springs (Duh!)
Rear: Multi-link, anti-roll bar. Springs and dampers (Duh!)

Brakes: Front: ventilated discs, rear discs, 4 channel/sensor ABS

Steering: Usual rack & pinion power-assisted

Wheels/tyres: 6J x 14 Alloy by AAC, 185/60R14
(Wira 1.8 DOHC: Body/Chassis all same as Putra)


Fuel consumption (FC):
Fuel tank capacity 50Litres. Average FC: 8 kms/litre. (Wira 1.8 should be the same)


Performance:

Top speed: 205km/h (Claimed) Manual, 190km/h Auto (Wira DOHC: 210km/h - claimed)
0-100km/h:
Man: 7.6 secs (tested - LOCAL Car mag) [(Wira DOHC: 8.3 secs - claimed)]
Auto: 9.7 secs (tested - by me)
Rpm@100km/h: 2700rpm (5th gear, manual - tested by a Local Car mag)

PRICE:

New 2000: RM69,000 – Man; RM72,000 Auto .
(Wira 1.8 DOHC PERT Edition: Man: 69,000, 73,000Auto)

Today’s averaged price: RM36,000 for year 2000 manual, extra RM2k for Auto model. For Wira 1.8 DOHC PERT Edition (M) year 00’ model: RM35,000.

Brief review: Proton Putra

Back in 1996, Proton is on a roll having captured almost 70% of the sedan and hatchback markets. To keep this leading position, Proton is looking to enhance its vehicle sales further by entering niche markets. Proton had identified the market and it’s affordable sports coupe where the potential buyers were young hot blooded “boy racers”. The segment was once ruled by Ford Laser TX3 till the mid 90s. The car was officially introduced as Proton Putra. It is a 2 door version of the Mitsubishi Lancer.


Dimensionally, the overall length of the Putra (4230mm) falls between Wira Sedan and Satria, but it has closer relationship to the Satria by having the identical wheelbase of 2440mm and is shorter by 60mm than the sedan and aeroback.

Underneath the Putra is what makes it so special. The engine is identical to the Wira 1.8EXI DOHC a 1834cc DOHC unit which produces 140hp@6500rpm and 164Nm of torque at 5500rpm.

For stopping power, there are disc brakes all round with the front being ventilated. Factory fitted ABS with 4 channel 4 sensor. Alloy rims are standard with 185/60R14 tyres.



The Putra had the same dashboard as the Wira, but it came with cupholder, Momo steering and titanium effect “sticker” on the dashboard (see picture). The dash meters are the same as Wira 1.6i but with the speedometer right up to 260km/h and tachometer redlines at 7000rpm!


It also came with Recaro seats. The door being a coupe is wide and access to the rear is easy. Like most 2 door cars, the seatbelt anchor positioned too far back from the front seats and requires turning your back to reach the seatbelt. The seats being Recaros were supportive in the right area, not to firm, not too soft. The rear seat space is only comfortable for 2 (see picture) as the “transmission hump” renders the legroom useless for the “rear middle passanger”.


That’s all I can report. As I did not have the chance to drive the Putra as the car dealer won’t allow (I saw this Putra, totally stock year 2000 model Automatic priced at RM37,000). I am just a passenger in the car, the dealer just gave me a test ride in the car! The only thing I can comment is it’s a high-revving car with reasonable ride and handling (the car has stock 14” AAC rims with 185/60R14) with limited body roll thanks to the standard Recaro. Pickup is decent for an Automatic, 0-100km/h around 9.7 seconds.


To conduct a fair review, I"M PLEASE TO INVITE 2x PUTRA OWNERS TO WRITE A REVIEW HERE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!!! I'D ALSO INVITE 2x OWNERS OF WIRA 1.8 EXI DOHC OWNERS TO WRITE A REVIEW. The following blog are the Specifications for both Putra and Wira 1.8EXI DOHC. Both are almost the same car, have the same engine, chassis, dashboard and near-identical performance. The differences are in dimensions and body style only.

Saturday, September 09, 2006

The Concept of this blog...

The purpose of this blog is reviewing used cars with specifications. The concept is it is going to be the interactive way!

I will kick start the review by giving my own impressions of a car and if I can’t give review, I’ll just upload the specifications and I want YOU!!! Visitors of this blog especially car owner(s) of the subject car to review the car by sending me the e-mail of your review and I will upload it… Don’t worry; I will acknowledge your work. But I will only post the 1st two reviews for non-national cars and 1st 4 reviews for National-cars in my blog…

EMAIL ME YOUR REVIEWS AT: otoreview@gmail.com


Oh! For Amateur Car reviewers only as the purpose of this blog is also showcasing the talents of amateurs only. Professional car magazine journalist(s) review(s) is/are discouraged.

I am also accepting “R.O.D” = Review on Demand. Ie. YOU!!! Visitors request a car for review (eg. Honda CRV) or the specifications and I will review it. Again, if I can’t review I will just give the specifications and invite the “owner” of the “requested car(s)” to review…


I also invite reviewers of used cars from our neighbouring countries, Indonesia and Singapore. But this time I won’t start the review or post the specifications, YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN. You are free to post your reviews on any car + the specifications as well. Again, by sending e-mail of your review to me and I will blog it and acknowledge your work…

The format of the review is up to you, 7 page maximum (as seen in Ms Word). But must include elements on:

i) Interior/Exterior

ii) Drivability@ On the road (include ride and handling, performance

iii) Ownership experience/proposition (eg. Maintenance, memorable experience with the car, what you add to your car++, AND would you recommend this car to other people?

iv) Fuel consumption (in mpg or Km/litre)

v) Pictures are limited to 2 interior, 2 exterior and 1 engine.

NOTE: ++ => Please don’t give me the details of what you modify to your car. This is a used car review blog NOT a car tuning or modification blog. Just a summary of:

i) Essential areas such as engine + gearbox (eg. From Mitsubishi 4G15 1.5 to 4G93 1.8 turbo, port and polished, 1 bar boost, auto to manual, LSD etc).

ii) Ride and handling enhancements (eg. suspension, rims & tyres)

iii) Brakes (eg. Cross drilled, rear drums to discs).


If possible DON'T need to cover "NON-essential" enhancements (such as In Car Entertainment (ICE), snake skin leather), or visual enhancements such as Bodykit/Paintworks (including Airbrush, 3k paint), etc… UNLESS YOUR CAR IS 100% STOCK w/o modifications and nothing to say in "ESSENTIAL" areas.