Google Search

Google

Featured Post of the Week

FULL REVIEW: Hyundai Sonata LF Nu 2.0

In this Blog entry, I'm reviewing a Long overdue Review on the Sonata LF Nu 2.0 D-CVVT. You are looking at All new Sonata LF 2.0.  I d...

Saturday, December 31, 2011

Year of the Dragon poised to be an exciting year

KUALA LUMPUR: The local car industry is set to shift into high gear in 2012 despite having gone through a roller-coaster ride this year.


Both the national and non-national car companies have announced exciting model launches, facility and network expansion as well as upgrading programmes.


Some have received enquiries and bookings ahead ofthe Chinese New Year on Jan 23-24, 2012.
Proton Holdings Bhd will launch the new global car, P3-21A, in the first quarter of 2012 and two new variants of multi-purpose vehicle Exora by the second week of January.


UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd plans to unveil a few models for both Toyota and Lexus, while Naza Kia will accept bookings for its new Optima K5 in January.


Naza Kia will set up its second 3S (sales, service and spare parts) outlet -- Kia Red Cube -- and upgrade 27 existing outlets to incorporate its new identity.


Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua (Perodua) will ink a collaborative agreement with Proton on certain aspects early next year.  Perodua has revealed that both parties will make the announcement on the agreement either this year or next year.


On Khazanah Nasional Bhd plans to sell its stake in Proton to DRB-HICOM Bhd, most analysts reserved comments to await Khazanah's formal announcement.

Other factors that industry players need to keep close watch included the revision to the National Automotive Policy and exchange rates for the US dollar and yen.

The younger Malaysian population, which usually forms a large pool of first-time buyers, will propel the car industry towards achieving higher overall total industry volume (TIV).


Car analysts said effective business plans to tap growth opportunities, including strategies to cope with economic reality in view of Europe's debt woes and tight credit, are crucial.
Industry players and analysts expect TIV next year to record positive growth.

OSK Research Sdn Bhd said next year's TIV is expected to grow by 1.1 per cent on the back of a forecast gross domestic product growth of 5.2 per cent.
RHB Research Institute forecasts TIV to remain relatively flat at 607,000 units in 2012 versus 2011, which is estimated at 604,000 units.
MIDF Amanah Investment Bank Bhd predicts the TIV to grow by 0.5 per cent to 611,140 units from 608,100 units estimated this year.


Naza Kia expects sales volume to remain flat next year in view of the coming general elections and said that "maintaining sales at the current level is good enough for next year."


In 2010, the TIV hit a record 605,155 units, an increase of 12.7 per cent compared with 2009's 536,905 units.


As for this year, the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) forecasts industry sales to hit 608,000 units.
The market saw a momentum driven by stronger purchasing power and higher demand from customers this year but faced several challenges like earthquake and tsunami that hit Japan in March and the flooding in Ayutthaya, Thailand in the third quarter of the year.


As a result, some delays were seen in the launch of certain models and delivery of spare parts for companies like UMW Toyota Motor and Honda.


With 2011 turning out to be the year best forgotten by the car industry, most analysts agree that the parts production and delivery are nearly back to normal.


Total vehicle sales rose by 8.6 per cent to 48,702 units in November, from the 44,845 units sold in the same month last year.


According to MAA said sales volume for December is expected to moderate further, due to the preference of customers to wait and take delivery of 2012 production year stocks.
-Bernama

Driving schools to introduce automatics in stages

Driving schools to introduce automatics in stages

Source (Click me)

PETALING JAYA: Driving schools welcomed the move to introduce lessons for automatic transmission cars which will be implemented in May.




Malaysian Driving Institute Association president Mat Aris Bakar said it was a good move as there are more automatic transmission cars now.


“We are waiting for the announcement from the government,” said Mat Aris, who is also the managing director of Metro Driving Academy.


Mat Aris said driving schools will likely introduce automatic transmission cars at their schools in stages as it would involve a lot of cost to purchase them.


“Driving lessons for automatic cars will be more expensive than manual cars as their price and maintenance costs are higher,” he said.

The association has 130 members nationwide.


Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Rahim Bakri told Bernama that the automatic transmission driving licence will be implemented nationwide in May, when the new revised driving curriculum is expected to be in place.


Those who learn and take tests in automatic cars will be issued an automatic transmission driving licence and will not be allowed to drive manual cars.


However, those holding the manual transmission driving licence can drive automatic transmission cars.
The revised driving curriculum will introduce more safety driving elements and was mooted to produce more disciplined and ethical drivers.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Car and Driver 10 best cars 2012

In this blog entry, I'm reporting Car and Driver 10 best cars for 2012.  Here are the lists + Videos:

Further readings:
http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature
http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature-2012-audi-a6-a7-30t-quattro-page-2
http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature-2012-bmw-3-series-m3-page-3
http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature-2012-cadillac-cts-v-page-4
http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature-2012-ford-focus-page-5
http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature-2012-ford-mustang-gt-boss-302-page-6
http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature-2012-honda-accord-page-7
http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature-2012-honda-fit-page-8
http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature-2012-mazda-mx-5-miata-page-9

http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature-2012-porsche-boxster-cayman-page-10
http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2012-10best-cars-feature-2012-volkswagen-golf-gti-page-11
That's all folks, thanks for having the time and patience to read this blog entry.

Honda Thailand scraps over 1,000 flood-damaged vehicles

Honda Thailand scraps over 1,000 flood-damaged vehicles

BANGKOK: Honda began destroying 1,055 cars in Thailand to reassure customers that no vehicles damaged in the country’s recent flood crisis will ever be sold.


 
The scrapping process at Honda’s plant in the central province of Ayutthaya is expected to take one month, the company said in a statement.

The plant is located in the Rojana Industrial Park, where heavy flooding in early October brought production to a halt and aerial pictures showed hundreds of new cars submerged in muddy water.
“While we were able to relocate many new cars that were awaiting shipment to a safe area, 1,055 vehicles that remained in the plant were finally damaged by the flood,” said Pitak Pruittisarikorn, executive vice president of Honda Automobile Thailand.
Most of the cars to be scrapped are mid-sized City sedans and Brio and Jazz hatchbacks. Production has yet to resume at the factory.
Thailand said earlier this month that over 700 people died in the floods, which at their height affected 65 of the 77 provinces in the low-lying nation and forced the closure of seven major industrial parks, disrupting global supply chains.

-AFP


Touchscreen devices in cars linked to higher accident risks

Touchscreen devices in cars linked to higher accident risks



CANBERRA: Other devices are being singled out alongside the cellphone as being linked to distracted driving accidents.
This time, they are portable touchscreen-based devices in cars, whether they be mp3 players, smartphones, GPS or PDAs.

Above: My dad's MYVI 1.5 SE with "High risk" touch screen Multimedia navigation player.

A research team from the Monash University Accident Research Centre of Australia, led by author Kristie Young, analysed the impact of using touchscreen devices on driving skills.
Young and her team assessed the ability of 37 people to stay in their lane and stay a safe distance behind another vehicle while searching for songs in a list of tunes on an iPod Touch device by using computer driving simulations.
"The devices often have really small text or their menu structures are quite complex, and drivers have to spend a lot of time to find a particular item," said Young.


"When drivers' eyes are off the road, they miss the visual cues from the road environment to make micro-corrections to their steering to stay on the correct path and also to maintain a safe distance from the lead vehicle," China's Xinhua news agency quoted her as saying in a statement.
The main problem with portable devices being brought into cars is that they are not designed primarily for use by drivers, said Young, adding that these devices use scrolling mechanisms and finger flicks to locate songs on a touchscreen.
Without any tactile feedback, drivers need to look at the device to keep track of where they are up to in the task, and the short glance back to the roadway might not be sufficient.


"The heading and following errors build up and become more increased over time because they aren't making those adjustments that they need to stay on the correct path."
The researchers found that the drivers not only have their eyes off the road for a significantly much more time, they were also more likely to veer off the center of their lane, and misjudge the distance to the car in front.

To compensate for the distraction, drivers tended to slow down and take more frequent glances at the device.
However, Young pointed out that such action is not a safe strategy.
According to the research, over 40 percent of drivers own a portable music player will use it while driving with half of them being young drivers.
Young said previous experience showed that younger drivers are more likely to engage in distracting activities.
The impact of that distracting activity is likely to be greater on driver performance because they lack the level of driver experience and skill to handle those increased risks.
It is reported that better integration of touchscreen devices into car systems and deploying system lock outs, where only a limited number of functions are allowed while the car is moving could help in reducing the risk.
Young suggested that "enter your destination details [on your GPS] before driving off, load up playlists before driving would help a lot."
The finding was published in the journal Applied Ergonomics.

-Bernama

Sunday, December 25, 2011

Merry Christmas 2011

I, Jeff Lim, would like to wish all readers/subscribers Merry Christmas 2011...


I have some photos with me...  Here goes:


Above: My Church's Deco...
Above and below: Suria KLCC Christmas Deco.
Above and below: Suria KLCC Deco.
Above: Presents galore, Below: SS2  Mall Deco.
Above: My Church Christmas Service...


Before I signed off, here's my ALL TIME Favourite Christmas Song:

Thursday, December 22, 2011

Saab files for bankruptcy

Saab files for bankruptcy



STOCKHOLM: Swedish Automobile N.V. has announced that Saab Automobile AB (Saab Automobile), Saab Automobile Tools AB and Saab Powertrain AB have filed for bankruptcy with the District Court in Vänersborg, Sweden today.

It is expected that the court will approve the filing and appoint receivers for Saab Automobile shortly. Saab said in a statement that it decided to file for bankruptcy "in the best interests of its creditors."



The decision came about after GM, which still owns a number of technology licenses for Saab, blocked the sale of Saab Automobile to Chinese auto maker Zhejiang Youngman Lotus Automobile Co.

 Swedish Automobile N.V said it does not expect to realise any value from its shares in Saab Automobile and would write off its interest in Saab Automobile completely.

End of Source...

Jeff Lim's Opinion: Another Car Brand killed by GM. What's with GM? Apparently loved to kill car manufacturers. Prior to Saab, GM Already killed "Pontiac", "Hummer", and "Saturn". What a Selfish move to block sales to China. Sigh...

Sunday, December 18, 2011

HYUNDAI-SIME DARBY MOTORS SET TO LAUNCH THE NEW MD ELANTRA

HYUNDAI-SIME DARBY MOTORS SET TO LAUNCH THE NEW MD ELANTRA



SHAH ALAM, 15 December 2011– Malaysian motorists can look forward to owning the all-new MD Elantra come January/February next year. Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has announced its plan to launch the Inokom MD Elantra (a licensed product from Hyundai Motor Company) latest by February 2012.



“The MD Elantra is what everyone wants of a car. Dynamic compact design, premium touch, high fuel efficiency, spaciousness, and low maintenance cost with an exceptionally accessible pricing. We know how excited Malaysian motorists are about the MD Elantra and we are trying our best the get it out on the roads soon,” said Mr Dennis Ho, HSDM Managing Director.



Ho added that the MD Elantra is a testimony of Hyundai’s new brand direction ‘New Thinking New Possibility’ in producing ‘modern premium’ vehicles for its customers.



Among the highlights included in the new MD Elantra are:



Dynamic Design with a Sleek and Sporty Profile



With its lower roofline and low rear deck lid, the MD Elantra exudes a sleeker and sportier profile reducing wind resistance thereby improving fuel economy.

The design concept called “Wind Craft” (based on the ‘fluidic sculpture’ design principles) is applied to the car design, evoking a piece of sculpture literally crafted from the wind.

Class-leading Performance



The MD Elantra will be available in two engine choices - 1.8-litre Nu MPI and 1.6-litre Gamma MPI D-CVVT. Both engines are mated to six-speed transmissions, which deliver impressively more horsepower while consuming less fuel and producing lower emissions than the powertrains they replace. Hyundai is one of only three global car manufacturers with its own unique in-house made six-speed automatic transmissions.



The 1.8-litre Nu Multipoint Fuel Injected (MPI) four-cylinder engine is capable of up to 150ps of horsepower at 6,500rpm, while the 1.6-litre Gamma MPI four-cylinder engine is equipped with D-CVVT to boost horsepower output of 130ps at 6,300rpm. The average fuel consumption for the 1.8-litre engine is at 14.1 km/L while the 1.6-liter engine is at 16.4km/L for the manual transmission and 14.9 km/L for the auto transmission.



The Nu engine features an aluminum block with a cast iron cylinder liner, cylinder head and crank. This unique configuration results in a block that is 30 percent lighter than an iron block, shedding more than 33.6 kilograms off the entire engine weight, while still providing comparable strength.



The 1.8-liter Nu also offers Dual Continuously Variable Valve Timing (D-CVVT) camshafts and hydraulic engine mounts for optimum power, efficiency and refinement. Using D-CVVT on both camshafts has several advantages when compared to just using the intake camshaft. These include a 2 percent improvement in performance (increased volumetric efficiency), 2 percent improvement in fuel economy (reduced pumping loss) and a 30 percent reduction in hydrocarbon emissions. The Nu four-cylinder engine also has an offset crankshaft design that reduces friction between the piston and cylinder wall for a one percent improvement in fuel economy.


Low Maintenance Cost


The MD Elantra is fitted with a maintenance-free silent timing chain system to enhance durability and improve Noise Vibration and Harshness (NVH). It also comes with a maintenance-free transmission (under normal usage condition).


No matter which variant one chooses, all of them will give immense comfort spaciousness in the cabin. The foldable rear seats also give the vehicle the flexibility of having a larger boot space.


Since its introduction at the Busan International Motor Show in April 2010, MD Elantra’s global sales have reached 103,307 units as of June this year. In the US, the Hyundai Elantra recorded sales of 83,309 units from June 2010 to May 2011, more than 90 per cent from the previous year of 43,319 units sold. Starting 2012, Hyundai expects to export 400,000 units annually.


The MD Elantra recently won the following awards:

•Compact Sedan Winner of the 5th Annual Readers’ Choice Cars Awards by Texas Automotive Media Agency, US

•AutoPacific 2011 Ideal Award Winner in the compact car category, US

•Highly Regarded AJAC (Automobile Journalists Association of Canada) for Best Small Car Over $21,000, Canada

•ALG Residual Value Award in the Compact Car Segment, US

•2011 Best New Model by Kiplinger, US

•Car of the Year by Autospies.com, US

•2011 Top Pick & Recommendation by Consumer Reports , US

•Top 10 Most Fuel Efficient Car by TrueCar.com, US

•2011 Best New Car by About.com, US

•Top 10 Cars To look Forward to in 2011, US

•2011 Greenest Vehicle by American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy, US

HSDM offers a 5-year or 300,000km (whichever comes first) extended warranty on all its new passenger vehicles. A 24-hour road assist service is also now available to new and existing Hyundai vehicles.



About Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors Sdn Bhd

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors Sdn Bhd (HSDM) is a subsidiary of Sime Darby Motors. HSDM is now the sole distributor and exclusive importer of all Hyundai completely built-up and locally assembled vehicles and related spare parts.

HSDM’s complete car line-up includes the i10, i30, Accent, Avante, Sonata, Tucson, Santa Fe, Grand Starex Royale.



About Inokom Corporation Sdn Bhd


Inokom is principally involved in the manufacture and assembly of light commercial vehicles and passenger vehicles as well as contract assembly. Its manufacturing facility is located at Padang Meha, Kulim, occupying 200 acres of freehold land.



Inokom started with the Malaysian National Commercial Vehicles (“MNCV”) project which produced Permas and Lorimas models, based on the technology transferred from Renault and Hyundai respectively.



Inokom started manufacturing Hyundai’s micro multi-functional vehicles (MFV) in September 2002. The agreement had been finalised upon signing of the Technical Licence Agreement between the two parties in March 2002. Since then, Inokom had produced various ranges of products in the Kulim assembly plant. The model ranges from passenger to commercial vehicles. The marketing and distribution of Inokom products are handled by Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors Sdn Bhd.



NEW THINKING. NEW POSSIBILITIES.


Hyundai’s new brand statement ‘New Thinking. New Possibilities’ encompasses Hyundai’s new brand concept, ‘Modern Premium,’ which aims to provide customers with value and experiences beyond expectations.



Hyundai’s ‘modern premium’ concept is based on the idea that high quality does not necessarily require a high acquisition price. Hyundai now offers high-end, high quality and efficient cars at an accessible price. This is not limited to just the product, but also Hyundai’s entire business, operations and services.

SOURCE: Click me!

Saturday, December 17, 2011

LONGTERMER #4 Vol 2: Perodua MYVI 1.5SE+ Auto

LONGTERMER #4 Vol 2: Perodua MYVI 1.5SE MultimediaNavi Auto "Lagi Power Lagi Best".




In this blog entry, I'm updating my family's ride. This is the 2nd month we owned the MYVI 1.5SE. On the 5th day owning the car, I sent the car to MAXSHINE Centre for 3 layers wax, polish, vacuum and window cleaning. The result?












Also, I discovered that the Lokatoo GPS have JUNCTION VIEW:


We did our 1st 1000km service at 13 November 2011. Waiting time 2 hours only with appointment. Right after our 1000km service, my dad took the MYVI to Genting Highlands. He was impressed with the Soundproofing (better than Civic FD2), Ride and Handling of the car.

Subsequently (IN TOTAL), he took the MVYI 1.5 SE to Genting Highlands a WHOOPING 5 times.

Under my hands, I took the MYVI to LCCT and back. It seemed the alignment is out, I need to hold the steering tightly. Also, on certain roads at speed above 120km/h the car's BUMPY until my passanger complained. The car's STABLE at speed up to 145km/h BUT BUMPY.


Heck, a Black Altis 1.8 (2005) came to "Race with me" on the way to LCCT, (that's why I drove up to 145km/h) and ended up losing. 100-140km/h is faster than the Altis 1.8.









Without further ado, let's proceed to Logbook:

Mileage upon delivery: 0023km
Mileage last update: 0023km
Mileage last month (13/11/11): 1111km




Mileage now: 2991km
Average mileage per month: 1497km
Purchase price: RM54,000 (less NCB)
Interest rate: 2.95% @ RM42,000. Public bank for 5 years loan.


FUEL CONSUMPTION (Oct 15 to Dec 14):


Best: 12.9km/L 80% highway/20% city, Esso RON95. (Dad's Genting trip)
WORST: 8.8km/L (Shell RON95) 80% City/20% Highway driving driven by Me. (October 27)


PERFORMANCE:
0-100km/h: 10.9 seconds normal acceleration in "D" with Air cond on.
Top speed: Max I driven is 145km/h.

Before I go, here's some parting shots:

Night views of the MYVI LPLB:











That's all folks, thanks for having the time and patience to read this blog entry. An original Jeff Lim's production. See you ON February 15 for the next update.

MBPJ above the law? Check this out!!!

In this blog entry, I'd like to show you 2 articles on MBPJ staff abusing their parking lots... Before that, I'd like to show you what I "discovered" on 11 Nov 2011 before I paid my MBPJ Summon. My offence? I kena this summon while I was away for 10 mins.

This car pictured was parked at "OKU" parking lot for AT LEAST 3 hours, Yet no action taken.

Note that this "above the law" Perdana committed 3 offence.
1) Parked at OKU Parking Lot
2) Expired Road tax
3) Dark tinted glass.

YET NOT A SINGLE SUMMON ISSUED!!!

Enjoy these wonderfully taken pictures:












This is the Last summon I'm going to pay. Received Another summon 10 days later at SS2. An irony as I was only away for 10 mins (tapau McDonalds).


Upon closer inspection, this car got "KAKITANGAN MBPJ 2008/2009" sticker and Expired Road tax.

I hope MPBJ/JPJ or Polis who read my blog entry go after this Offender.














Without further ado, I now present you 2 articles showing MBPJ blatant ABUSE THE POWER!!!

Article 1:

MBPJ staff ‘abusing parking lots’



B Nantha Kumar March 26, 2011 PJ New Town retail outlets have seen a drop in business activities because Petaling Jaya City Hall appears to be a 'turning a blind eye' to the city's parking woes.


PETALING JAYA: Frustrated residents have accused the Petaling Jaya City Hall (MBPJ) personnel of abusing the public parking lots in and around the city.

According to them, MBPJ staff occupied most of the public car parks throughout the day for free and inconvenienced the public.

Petaling Jaya, Selangor Resident’s Association Coalition (APAC) president Johan Tung Abdullah said they were very concerned about the issue as it had resulted in a drop in business activities in the area.

“The shop owners have been complaining of a drop in business over the past few months… when customers come, there is just no place to park,” he said, adding that APAC had submitted a memorandum to Petaling Jaya mayor Mohamad Roslan Sakiman, on the issue.

Citing an example, Tung said on March 23, nearly 50 cars with MBPJ stickers were parked around PJ New Town and “none of them paid parking fees”.

“It is a daily occurrence. All these cars are parked in public parking lots and none of them had any parking coupons on the front dashboards to indicate that parking fees had been paid.

“Fifty free parkings per day means MBPJ is losing at least RM50,000 a year in revenue from these lots,” he said.

‘Special privilege’

While stressing that he was not against MBPJ personnel using public parking lots, he, however, questioned why they were allowed the “special privilege” of free parking.

He said it was their understanding that the “Kakitangan MBPJ” blue stickers do not exempt the owners of the vehicles from paying.

“It looks like MBPJ is turning a blind eye to this impropriety since its personnel’s vehicles are not issued with summons,” he told FMT.

PJ residents told FMT the situation was not perculiar to PJ new town and in fact occurred in all the Petaling Jaya areas.

“It looks like MPJB owned the whole of PJ. They’re like the mafia controlling the city.

“If any of the shopowners made a complaint, he will definitely be ‘flooded’ with summons,” said a resident.

Tung meanwhile is hoping that the mayor will step in and resolve the issue quickly and uphold its mission of serving the Petaling Jaya ratepayers fairly.


ARTICLE 2: Also from "freemalaysiatoday.com".

Is MBPJ above the law?

June 29, 2011
FMT LETTER
From R Ganesh, via e-mail

I was shocked today when I parked my car in Petaling Jaya as I was summoned and a MBPJ vehicle beside mine was not despite the MBPJ vehicle not displaying a parking coupon.

I had just parked my car and as I was walking towards the machine to obtain my parking coupon when a lady officer, on a motorbike, summoned my car for not displaying a parking coupon.

By the time I came back to the car, she had summoned my car and several other cars in the row except the MBPJ vehicle. The MBPJ vehicle was taking a whole parking bay for itself.

I entered the restaurant in front where the vehicle was parked and to my surprise, I saw two MBPJ officers in uniform enjoying their breakfast. It was their vehicle parked outside.

I went out again and asked the lady officer why the double standard and how come most of the vehicles parked there were summoned except the MBPJ vehilce.

She said the MBPJ vehicle was above the law and she was instructed not to issue any summons on MBPJ vehicles. I even informed her that the officers were eating inside.

I can fully understand if the vehicle was on official business. But here, the officers were eating in a restaurant. Later, when the officers finished eating, I appoached them to verify that it was their vehicle parked.
I fully support if a government vehicle was on official business, they should be exempt from summons to facilitate the workings of the government, but in this case, it was otherwise.
I was truly surprised. The lady officer who summoned my car was so observant it was a government vehicle and not summon it but she was not observant enough to notice I was walking towards the parking machine to obtain my parking coupon.

I cannot understand how government vehicles can be above the law, especially when the vehicle is used for non official business like eating.

This is a loss of revenue to the Selangor government. Not only the Selangor government loses revenue from parking coupons, it loses revenue from summonses as well.

In this case, my summons was RM100. If this double standard is allowed, the Selangor government loses millions per annum, money useful for the development of the state.

I hope the MBPJ president can clarify why a MBPJ vehicle is not summoned despite it being parked in a parking bay for non official business.

I hope Tan Sri Khalid also can clarify the law with regards to the above matter. I have evidence in support of my grieviance should there be a need.

END OF ARTICLE!


Also, I noticed they target "Chinese majority" areas only. Places like SS2, Sunway Mas, Dataran Prima, Damansara Uptown, Damansara Jaya, Section 16, Paramount. They WILL NEVER Summon Muslim Triple parking along Mosques causing Traffic Jams. Eg. Section 14, Jalan Universiti, Damansara Utama mosque etc... This is Blatant DOUBLE STANDARDS!


SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE!!! After seeing this photos and articles, will you still PAY your MBPJ summonses? I for sure will IGNORE!!!





Tuesday, December 13, 2011

LONGTERMER #3, Vol 6: Proton Waja 1.6 4G18P (A)

LONGTERMER #3, Vol 6: Proton Waja 1.6 4G18 (A)


In this blog entry, I'm updating my ride, Proton Waja 1.6 4G18(A). This is the 6th update.







There's nothing much to blog apart from 1 MAJOR Upgrade. I finally ditched the OEM Clarion 2-din Cassette+6 Disc CD-changer for "Alpine CDE-121" CD/MP3/WMA/AAC/IPod/USB and Aux player.


For more details of this player, visit:

http://www.alpine.com.au/showItem.php?item_id=204


Why I choose this player?


Look at this photo above. As you can see the Most of Alpine backlit is RED. Same colour as the "Dash meters". At first, I wanted to buy the Pioneer DEH-4350UB with "ALL RED" Backlights and costs the same (different shop). Unfortunately, the Pioneer needs "Specific" USB Cable to connect to IPOD. This Alpine CDE-121 on the other hand NOT ONLY supports Any Ipod/Iphone cable, it Charges them too.





Here are more photos:












Other than the NEW Alpine CDE-121 Head Unit, the rest of the Speakers (4 speakers+2 tweeters) were ALL STOCK CLARION components. The result? Sounds Not bad, quite decent in fact.


How's the Sound Quality? See my Youtube video below:














Without further ado, let's proceed to logbook:

Mileage as at 11/11/11: 132,646km
Mileage last month: 990km


Mileage today (11/12/11): 133,355km
Mileage this month: 709km
(Why so Low mileage? It's because I spent 4 days in Kuching and I parked my car in Paramount LRT and took LRT to work the WHOLE MONTH).

FUEL CONSUMPTION:

ALL TIME:
Best: 12.8km/L (RM14 cents) - 100% Highway. (NKVE)
Worst: 7.1km/L (RM25 cents) - 100% City. Stuck in KL traffic for 50mins to and up to 2 hours fro for a 15 km journey. Shell RON95

This month (3 fill ups. RM100, RM50 and RM30):
Best: 8.6km/l (RM0.22/km) 70% highway, 30% city. Esso RON95, RM100 good for 445km(Npvember 22)
Worst: 7.39km/l (RM0.257/km) 100% city driving (Shell RON95) RM50 good for 195km (2 December 2011)

EXPENDITURE:

1) Petrol: RM180 (Average 24 cents/km)
2) Parking: RM50
3) Reload touch and go RM30
4) Car Wash: RM6
5) New Alpine CDE-121 HU + Labour, Casing + Fr left side mirror
= RM490+20+40+20)= RM570
6) MBPJ Summon: RM30 (This one really UNFAIR. Why? See next post)

TOTAL: RM866.

Before I go, here's a parting shot:


The Waja parked at its Previous Home (My Uncle's house).

That's all folks, thanks for having the time and patience to read this blog entry. Jeff Lim's original work.